Top 10 Tuesday: Food in Literature 101

Top 10 Sites I Visit that AREN'T About Books

It’s Tuesday again so The Broke and the Bookish are hosting Top Ten Tuesday.

This week it’s Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 .

Welcome to Food in Literature 101. In this course we will be looking at books and scenes in books where food is important. Eating in this class is not only allowed but encouraged. This is your required reading:

Chocolat- Joanne Harris

The descriptions of chocolate in this book are graphic enough to mean you need a bar of chocolate to hand when reading it

Great Expectations- Charles Dickens

Specifically the scene where Pip meets Miss Havisham in her decaying wedding reception.

 

A Little Princes- Frances Hodgeson Burnett

Again specifically the scene where Sara and Becky are really hungry so they imagine a magnificent feast.


The Book Unholy Mischief- Ellie Newmark

When a homeless boy is caught stealing a pomegranate by a chef the chef takes this as showing the superior taste of the boy so he takes him in to be a chef’s apprentice.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory- Roald Dahl

Food plays a role in a lot of Roald Dahl work (the cake in Matilda, the peach in James and the Giant Peach, for example), but Charlie and the Chocolate Factory has the most feed in it. For a more full look at food in Roald Dahl take my second year class.



Like Water For Chocolate- Laura Esquivel.

This book has recipes as part of the story.One at the begginning of each chapter

Brooklyn Bites Short Stories- Scott Stabile

These short stories have food as a pivotal part of the plot. Technically 3 books, but they’re all very short.

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Top 10 Tuesday

10 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday: Food in Literature 101

  1. I love this topic! It also makes me hungry for chocolate 🙂

    I love Charlie and Chocolate Factory and A Little Princess (Oh that food!). And Great Expectations is classic. Oh Miss Havisham–classic.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  2. Hazel

    What a great topic for this list! Have you read ‘The Kitchen Daughter’ by Jael Mchenry? It might fit into your ‘syllabus’. 🙂

  3. Cool topic! I love food! A Little Princess always makes me cry!

  4. This is such a fun theme for this topic! I’ve only read Dahl, the rest are new to me

  5. LHauser27

    This is so great. I looove food! haha. I enjoyed Like Water for Chocolate and I do love Miss Havisham. I’m ready for class 🙂

    My TTT: http://lesliehauser.com/2015/08/25/top-ten-tuesday-ya-contemporary-101-syllabus/

    Leslie

  6. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 30/8/15 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Yay! Welcome to the course!

  8. Thanks 🙂 I thoughroly recommend the Joanne Harris (there’s a film too), but it does make it hard not to snack all the time

  9. I knew the film first (which made me cry too) but I loved the book as well

  10. I haven’t, will have to look into it

Leave a Reply

