2014 TBR Pile Challenge

2014tbrbuttonSeeing as my challenges didn’t go so well last year, I’m trying to save money, and I have two tons of books on my To Be Read pile I thought I would sign up to just one challenge this year.

That challenge is the 2014 TBR Challenge hosted by Roof Beam Reader. The aim of the challenge is to read 12 books over 12 months which have been on your TBR pile for over a year (so no adding your Christmas present books!).

Here’s my list of intended reads:

1) Rebecca- Daphne du Maurier (so apparently I don’t actually have this one…opps)

2) A Game of Thrones- George R.R Martin Read March

3) Dracula- Bram Stocker Read January

4) Little Women- Louisa May Alcott Read February

5) Johnathan Strange and Mr Norrell- Suzanna Clarke

6) Persuasion- Jane Austen Read May

7) Oryx and Crake- Margaret Atwood

8) The Colour of Magic- Terry Pratchett

9) The Philosophical Baby- Alison Gopnik

10) The Good Angel of Death- Andrey Kurkov

11) The Wizard of Oz- L. Frank Baum Read April

12) The Lord of the Ring: The Fellowship of the Ring- J.R.R Tolkien

Alternates:

1) Pride and Prejudice and Zombies- Seth Grahame-Smith

2) Jemrach’s Menagerie- Carol Birch

17 Comments

Filed under Challenges, general

17 responses to “2014 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Looks like a good selection! How come you haven’t read those yet?

  2. Dracula, Persuasion, and The Lord of the Rings are all fantastic. I also hope to read Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell this year, as well as Oryx and Crake. I’ve had Rebecca on my “to read soon” list for a couple of years…. obviously, the list isn’t working for me. Lol Good luck with the challenge!

  3. Because new books excite me possibly? I have started a few at one point or another, but for some reason wasn’t in the right mood. Hopefully making them more of a priority will help.

  4. Thanks. Most of the books are ones I have heard great things about, but somehow never gotten around to actually reading!

  5. LotR and A Game of THrones are also on my list! Let’s compare once we’re both done 🙂

  6. A Game of Thrones and The Fellowship of the Ring are fantastic, and I also enjoyed Persuasion, Dracula and Oryx and Crake very much – you have some great choices. I’m also hoping to read Rebecca this year 🙂

    Good luck!

  7. Persuasion and Rebecca are both utterly brilliant. You have a really interesting list here, I hope you enjoy battling your TBR!

  8. Sounds like a great way to make a big dent in the TBR. These look like great books! I’ve read a few (Rebecca and Dracula) and loved them. Good luck with the challenge!

  9. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 5/1/14 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: Dracula- Bram Stoker | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Little Women- Louisa May Alcott | Lucybird's Book Blog

  12. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 17/3/14 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  13. Pingback: A Game Of Thrones- George R.R Martin | Lucybird's Book Blog

  14. Pingback: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz- L. Frank Baum | Lucybird's Book Blog

  15. Pingback: Persuasion- Jane Austen | Lucybird's Book Blog

  16. Pingback: Review of the Year 2014- Overview | Lucybird's Book Blog

  17. Pingback: Review of the Year 2013- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

