Bellman and Black- Diane Setterfield


Disclaimer: I was given this book free of charge (by the publisher) in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis

As a boy, William Bellman commits one small cruel act that appears to have unforseen and terrible consequences. The killing of a rook with his catapult is soon forgotten amidst the riot of boyhood games. And by the time he is grown, with a wife and children of his own, he seems indeed, to be a man blessed by fortune.

Until tragedy strikes, and the stranger in black comes, and William Bellman starts to wonder if all his happiness is about to be eclipsed. Desperate to save the one precious thing he has left, he enters into a bargain. A rather strange bargain, with an even stranger partner, to found a decidedly macabre business.

And Bellman & Black is born.

Review

I was a little unsure about reading this book. I had read good reviews, but I had also read a lot of reviews which said it really didn’t match up to The Thirteenth Tale. I haven’t read The Thirteenth Tale yet (I just got it actually) and was worried that if I didn’t enjoy Bellman and Black then I wouldn’t want to read The Thirteenth Tale…and then I might miss out.

Luckily I enjoyed Bellman and Black quite a lot. It wasn’t a traditional ghost story, in fact you could almost think that it wasn’t a ghost story at all. Except that it at least has a paranormal element, if not actually a ghost element.
I’m not sure if I would call it creepy exactly. It’s more a bit…err….I can’t think of the word. It make you unsure, it’s seems like it almost could happen, except for some little things.

It did take me a little while to get into, and I don’t think I would have finished it so soon if I hadn’t been reading it in hospital. Having said that if The Thirteenth Tale is actually better then I think I may actually end up loving it.

4/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£4.72)

Hardback (£7.68)

Paperback; pre-order (£7.40)

Other Reviews:

Words for Worms

Literary Lindsey

Under a Grey Sky

Silver’s Reviews

Have I missed your review? Post a link in comments and I will add it here

2 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review, Mystery, Paranormal

2 responses to “Bellman and Black- Diane Setterfield

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 29/12/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: The Thirteenth Tale- Diane Setterfield | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

