DNF: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay


Synopsis (from amazon)

One night in 1939, Josef Kavalier shuffles into his cousin Sam Clay’s cramped New York bedroom, his nerve-racking escape from Prague finally achieved. Little does he realise that this is the beginning of an extraordinary friendship and even more fruitful business partnership. Together, they create a comic strip called ‘The Escapist’, its superhero a Nazi-busting saviour who liberates the oppressed around the world. ‘The Escapist’ makes their fortune, but Joe can think of only one thing: how can he effect a real-life escape, and free his family from the tyranny of Hitler?

Thoughts

I don’t really usually write about books I don’t finish. I don’t like casting judgement without knowing the whole tale. However Kavalier and Clay is on The Rory List and seeing as I have read so few Rory books this year I wanted to show I’d given it a shot.

I really, really wanted to like Kavalier and Clay. So many people told me how amazing it is, how much they loved it. That’s probably why I decided first time I put it to the side that it might just be the wrong time. The idea shown by the synopsis was promising. It does sound, at least somewhat, like something I would want to read.

This second time round I did get a little further. I got past my 100 page ‘I can give up now’ mark. There were even bits I found kind of interesting, but nothing hooked my attention.

It was just too slow, nothing much really happened, even the interesting bits I felt could have been more interesting.

Part of me doesn’t want to admit defeat, but this is just not happening.

7 Comments

Filed under Fiction review

7 responses to “DNF: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

  1. You are not alone. I recently borrowed this from the library because I had heard good things about it, but after reading the first little bit, I decided it wasn’t for me.

  2. I read the synopsis and decided it wasn’t for me 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 22/12/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. I was a little unsure myself. But it has war background (which I like), and it was on the Rory list, and lots of people said it was amazing, so I gave it a try

  5. Glad I’m not alone

  6. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one. I’m one of those people who really adored it, but it’s definitely one of those books you really have to commit to reading for a while.

  7. What a pity you didn’t enjoy it. I must say, it doesn’t appeal to me. Good for you to write a DNF post – I do it all the time (well, not quite, only when I have a (rare) DNF).

Leave a Reply

