The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest- Stieg Larsson


This book was read as part of the Wishlist Challenge

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is the third book in the Millenium Trilogy. You can read my reviews of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played with Fire. I’ve also reviewed The Psychology of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Synopsis (from amazon)

Salander is plotting her revenge – against the man who tried to kill her, and against the government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life. But it is not going to be a straightforward campaign. After taking a bullet to the head, Salander is under close supervision in Intensive Care, and is set to face trial for three murders and one attempted murder on her eventual release. With the help of journalist Mikael Blomkvist and his researchers at Millennium magazine, Salander must not only prove her innocence, but identify and denounce the corrupt politicians that have allowed the vulnerable to become victims of abuse and violence. Once a victim herself, Salander is now ready to fight back.

Review

I really do think this series has got better as it’s gone along. I enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo well enough, but I didn’t really see what the fuss was about. I didn’t think it was anything that special when it came to the genre. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest however, is more than a crime story.

There has always been a feminist element to The Millennium Trilogy, but in the Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest it seemed to come more into it’s own. The story generally speaking was less about a crime being committed than a who state of secrets, lies, and tricks. It was political, it was a fight.

I like how there was an element of truth to parts of the story too. It made the rest seem more realistic, and you felt the same way you might when a government scandal is unearthed- despite it being fiction.

I really was behind Salander in this one too. I always admired her as a strong character, but I didn’t like her. I felt I really came to understand her in The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest however, and seeing everything in the light of what happened to her makes her attitude more understandable. I think she developed a lot in this book too. She was almost too independent before. She got in trouble because of her sense of vigilante justice, understandable, but not always the best way to get what she needed to.

I’m glad I finally got around to finishing these books. I think it’s worth it for the last one, but it wouldn’t work as a stand alone novel.

4.5/5

Buy it:

Paperback (£3.86)

Kindle (£2.43)

Hardback (£15.49)

Other reviews:

Reading with Tea

Reading is the Ultimate Aphrodisiac

Silly Little Mischief

Sam Still Reading

There were lots of reviews on Goodreads from bloggers I follow, but I couldn’t find them on everyone’s blog. The blogger search widgit seemed to be down however so if I misssed you please leave me a link in comments.

6 Comments

Filed under Fiction review

6 responses to “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest- Stieg Larsson

  1. wicked ending for a series that I love so much 🙂

  2. I didn’t particularly enjoy The Girl Who Played With Fire, but when I read this one I appreciated it so much more – this was a perfect end to the series but like you say, it wouldn’t have worked as a standalone without the others to provide the back story. Really well done.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 8/12/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. How ignorant of me to not actually know there were more books after the girl with a dragon tattoo. Will be sure to pick these two other books up!

  5. They get better and better, so I would recommend it

  6. Pingback: Review of the Year 2012- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

