Sunday Surfing 10/11/13

bird surf

Those of you who follow me on twitter might have noticed I’m been posting a lot of links recently. Sunday Surfing is my new feature (inspired by Chrisbookarama‘s Friday Bookish Buzz, which is one of my favourite features) where I share my favourite links from during the week, about books and blogging.

Plus a little about what’s happened on the blog this week. Lets get started.

Around the web this week

Is publishing inherently racist? It is interesting that you get black and Asian sections in a bookshop, but no white section. should they all be one?

Is this gift book really by Thackeray?

Indie booksellers will now be able to sell kindles and earn 10% from sales of ebooks hmm, not sure if this will actually help indies or hinder them.

How Where the Wild Things Are relates to real-life. I think we all have a little bit of a Wild Thing in us.

J.K. Rowling no longer a billionaire. But for good reasons, mainly.

Bed sex award nominees announced. Warning NSFW

Should GIFs, liveblogs, and memes be allowed in reviews? I like reviews with GIFs, they’re fun, and sometimes pictures work.

P.D. James’ Tips for writers. Think I’ve already broken a few :/

Buzzfeed are no longer posting negative book reviews. The Washington Post responded by changing some famous negative reviews.

No video today. I haven’t found one yet and need to write about 1000 more words for NaNoWriMo before bed.

And on the blog this week…

I talked about my first weekend of National Novel Writing Month (my summery of the first week should be up tomorrow) You can still sponsor my efforts. Donations go to Macmillan Cancer Support and The British Heart Foundation.

The kids read Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do You See?

I’m giving away a copy of The Memory Keepers Daughter as part of The Literary Giveaway Blog Hop.

3 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Sunday Surfing

3 responses to “Sunday Surfing 10/11/13

  1. interesting links as always and I am heading off to read, and that’s a lovely giveaway. I am definitely signing up for it. Thank you 🙂

    Btw, I am giving away a couple of books on my blog too if you are interested

  2. oops, just realized the giveaway is only Europe 😦

  3. Unfortunately. Usually I use The Book Depository. But am saving up for a house at the moment so can’t really afford it 😦

Leave a Reply

