NaNoWriMo Update the first

This month is National Novel Writing Month, and I’m taking part for charity (sponsor me). It means a bit of a delay in scheduled programming.  You can read about my start here

So I am off! I’m really happy with my progress over the first weekend. At the moment I am actually on target to reach the 50,000 word goal set by NaNoWriMo rather than my own more modest target of 25,000 words.

nano 1 copySo far the writing is going quite easily, it’s still the beginning so motivation is high, and as it’s been the weekend I have been able to be quite relaxed about my pace. 1000 words a day (my personal aim) isn’t too hard if you’re not too busy and don’t have to get up in the morning.

My story at the moment focuses around a toddler called Charlie. Charlie has an amazing imagination, but there’s something a bit strange going on. Everything that Charlie plays with seems to come true. Is it coincidence, is Charlie that insightful? Or is something more sinister going on?

I may have to change the name of my main character though, because every time I type the name Charlie I get “Candy Mountain Charlie” running through my head!

Sponsorship is going pretty well too. Already over £100, but there’s always room for more. So please sponsor me. As much or as little as you can afford is fine. None of your details will be shared with me bar your chosen name, and you can choose to hide your e-mail address. If you are a UK tax payer please gift aid your donation as it means the government will add some money into your donation. By sponsoring me you are helping out charities Macmillan Cancer Support and The British Heart Foundation.

I’m really very, very greatful to anybody who has donated already, and to those you will donate in the future.

7 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

7 responses to “NaNoWriMo Update the first

  1. It’s going well! But yes, early days… The story sounds interesting – I would love to know more about Charlie – not the horse!

    Keep it up!

  2. I like what you are doing, so keep up the good work.

  3. lol. Thank you. Hopefully I should at least get my 25,000 words

  4. Good luck with it Lucy! I hope it goes well and you enjoy it. I had a go over summer with Camp NaNo but only got so far..

  5. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 10/11/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update the Second | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

