First lines- a game

So I was trying to think of something a bit fun, and a bit different to do on the blog, and I remembered my favourite meme from my livejournal days where you pressed shuffle on your i-tunes generic music  player, listed the first lines and got people to guess what the song was. I thought you could do that with books. So here are the first lines/paragraphs of some books, mostly fairly well known, but a few more obscure, from my shelves. Names and title of the book where included are stared out. Can you guess what the books are?

I’ll update as correct answers come in.

1) “When I wake up, the other side of the bed is cold. My fingers stretch out, seeking ****’s warmth but finding only the rough canvas cover of the mattress.”

2) “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife”

Pride a Prejudice- Jane Austen guessed by Jayde-Ashe of Paperbook Blog

3) “In my younger and more venerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since”

The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald guessed by Aspiring Scribbler

4) “A fug of tobacco smoke and damp clammy air hit her as she entered the café. She had come in from the rain and drops of water still trembled like delicate dew on the fur coats of some of the women inside”

5) “Not for the first time, an argument had broken out over breakfast at (Number Four, Privet Drive).”

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets- J.K. Rowling guessed by Aspiring Scribber

6) “In 1972 I was sixteen- young, my father said, to be traveling with him on his diplomatic missions”

7) “*(Scarlett O’Hara) was not beautiful, but men seldom realised it when caught by her charms as the Tarleton twins were”

Gone with the Wind- Margaret Mitchell guessed by Jayde-Ashe @ The Paperbook blog

8) “I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day in January of 1960; then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near, Petosky, Michigan, in August of 1974.”

Middlesex- Jeffrey Eugenides guessed by Michelle @ Books my Kids Read

9) “My father had a face that could stop a clock.”

The Eyre Affair- Jasper Fforde guessed by Falaise @ 2606 Books and Counting

10) “When the phone rang I was in the kitchen, boiling a potful of spaghetti and whistling along to an FM broadcast of the overture on Rossini’s The Thieving Magpie, which has to be the perfect music for cooking pasta”

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle- Haruki Murakami guessed by Isi @ From Isi

What do you think?

27 Comments

Filed under general

27 responses to “First lines- a game

  1. Well I got Pride and Prejudice and Gone With the Wind immediately, the others I might have to ponder! Great game. I might try this on my blog 🙂

  2. Both right, Jayde-Ashe 🙂 Feel free to borrow the idea, and come give me the link if you do!

  3. Isi

    The tenth is The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Murakami, I think 🙂

  4. It could only be Murakami with the food and music reference, right Isi?

  5. Great game Lucy, and thanks for the inspiration! Here is a link to me version of the game:
    http://jaydeashe.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/one-liners/
    🙂

  6. Um, *my, not me. I sound like a drunk sailor.

  7. Love this game! Number 5 is ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets’…and number 3 is ringing bells but I just can’t place it!!!

  8. Isi

    Indeed!
    I haven’t read the book, but when my boyfriend did, he read me out loud the first page, and I remembered the thing about the spaguetti 🙂

  9. Isi

    Now I have googled the rest and I know the answers, but I’m not going to say anything; I’m a little angry beacuse I have read book number 6 and I didn’t recognize it!

  10. #8 is Middlesex. Loved that book! This is very fun.

  11. Pingback: Bookish highlights | find a girl who reads

  12. Correct, Michelle. Middlesex has got to by a favourite for me.

  13. Thanks. That’s right, I was beginning to think nobody would guess my favourite Potter!

  14. Ahh someone else who’s read ‘The Eyre Affair’ – I love those books 😀 I’m ashamed to admit I only knew three of them… and they’ve all been guessed already! Great post though.

  15. I love Jasper Fforde. Have you read Shades of Grey? That’s my favourite by him

  16. Is number one the time travellers wife?

  17. Nope, although I can see why you’d think that 🙂

  18. Got it…number 3 is The Great Gatsby!! I knew I’d heard it somewhere!!

  19. No I haven’t, but sounds interesting…
    I’m assuming nothing to do with Fifty Shades of Grey haha?

  20. Lol no. It’s about a place where people can only perceive 1 colour but are judged by what colour they can see. It’s in ways more serious than his others but still funny too

  21. Wow, sounds deep… I love his style, so I’ll definitely give it a go!

  22. Yes, the 10th is Murakami. Excellent quiz. SD

  23. Correct again 🙂

  24. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 13/10/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  25. I think the first is ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’.

  26. Oh, no it isn’t ! Someone already tried that one!

Leave a Reply

