Children’s Hour: Mrs Honey’s Hat

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Mrs Honey's Hat, Pam Adams, picture book, book, children's book

The other day I came across Mrs Honey’s Hat somewhere (can’t for the life of me remember where) and it reminded me of how much the pre-schoolers used to like the story. It’s a fairly simple story, and follows the same sort of pattern as Handa’s Surprise. Mrs Honey is very proud of her lovely new hat, but she’s not the only one who likes it. A series of characters also liked the decorations on her hat, and one by one they took the decorations, and each left something behind. With a different character taking something each day, Mrs Honey’s Hat is a good story for teaching the days of the week. The kids enjoy the bright pictures, and pointing out the different characters, the things they take, and the things they leave behind- the simple structure also means that one the children know the story a little they are able to ‘read’ it to themselves.

There are a series of props and games which you can buy to accompany this story, a board game, a soft toy, a story sack

Buy Mrs Honey’s Hat:

Paperback (£4.50)

Kindle (£4.28)

1 Comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

One response to “Children’s Hour: Mrs Honey’s Hat

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 7/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

