1Q84 (Book 3)- Haruki Murakami

1q84, 1q84 book 3, haruki murakami
Please note this review contains spoilers for 1Q84 books 1 and 2

Synopsis (from amazon)

Book Two of 1Q84 ended with Aomame standing on the Metropolitan Expressway with a gun between her lips.

She knows she is being hunted, and that she has put herself in terrible danger in order to save the man she loves.

But things are moving forward, and Aomame does not yet know that she and Tengo are more closely bound than ever.

Tengo is searching for Aomame, and he must find her before this world’s rules loosen up too much.

He must find her before someone else does.

Review

Maybe I’ve been reading 1Q84 for too long (I picked this up as soon as I finished book 2) but I found this one strangely…normal. Imean it wasn’t exactly, but it seemed to make sense, and I found myself being able to predict things before they were revealed- and even how they could logically make sense- or at least make sense within the context of 1Q84. Even though the rules of the world were still not what one would expect in a normal world it was like I knew what the rules were.

I think it might have been better if I didn’t know the rules. It was kind of satisfying to find out I was right but it made the novel less compelling to read. I’m not sure I was meant to work out things though, at least most of the time.

I feel I should have more to say, but I don’t really. Maybe more Fuku-Eri would have been nice. There was something about her as a character but she didn’t really factor much into book 3.

I still enjoyed book 3. However book 2 is undoubtedly my favourite.

4/5

Buy it:

Paperback (£5.59)

Kindle (£4.99)

Hardback (£11.99)

Paperback- books 1, 2 & 3 (£9.09)

Other Reviews:

Word by Word

Sam Still Reading

Nose in a Book (books 1, 2 and 3)

Keep Watching the Words (books 1, 2 and 3)

10 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fantasy, Fiction review

10 responses to “1Q84 (Book 3)- Haruki Murakami

  1. They are on my wishlist! I really want to read them.

  2. hope i can get my hand on a copy of this on the coming boo sale. Last round i missed thta

  3. You should really try. Actually if you have an e-reader I’d say try to get it on that, it’s a great big brick of a thing!

  4. They are worth it, but not my favourite Murakami (that would be Kafka on the Shore)

  5. I didn’t read this one. The only one I read was a short storie about a woman who couldn’t sleep. I don’t know the english title but those 1Q84 were really tempting me. Kafka on the shore is I think the most famous one and I do want to read it as well.

  6. Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman maybe? I haven’t read that one.

  7. Thanks for the link! It was rather normal for Murakami, wasn’t it? Plus the ending…quite traditional IMHO.

  8. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 7/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Sam, I suppose the ending was traditional, in a way, I kind of liked that about it though. I’m glad I’m not the only one who found it a bit normal though

  10. yes, probably sleeping woman.

Leave a Reply

