Sunday Surfing 22/9/13

bird surf

Those of you who follow me on twitter might have noticed I’m been posting a lot of links recently. Sunday Surfing is my new feature (inspired by Chrisbookarama‘s Friday Bookish Buzz, which is one of my favourite features) where I share my favourite links from during the week, about books and blogging.

Plus a little about what’s happened on the blog this week. Lets get started.

Around the web this week

At some point yesterday I got it into my head that I hadn’t found many links this week and started tweeting two tons of them….err and now there s a lot!

New e-book service may never replace the need to own a book

A History of Fictional Vampires. I just love the idea that The Count from Sesame Street counts because he has OCD.

National Book Awards longlist revealed. I don’t seem to be reading award books this year.

The thing J.K. Rowling is most proud of is being a single parent. And she should be, it’s hard work and not something you choose.

Books successful people read. Not that makes you successful.

What it’s like to buy a positive review. I can’t see how you can really feel successful if you’ve paid for reviews.

The Booker Prize is going to start considering American writers. I don’t really see the fuss, surely what matters is that the book is worth an award?

The children’s Laureate says the government should have intervened on library closures.

YA books that screw you up. I have a strange feeling I’ve posted this before, but don’t remember the books, I’m sure I would have remembered Eva at least.

The feeling of a reading slump

Cats who live in libraries. Why isn’t this a thing over here?

Writer accuses Dave Eggers of stealing book plot

This week’s video is about James Patterson’s quest to encourage reading in children. Not sure if I agree with his methods though!

And on the blog this week…

I reviewed The Returned

I read Chloe’s Snowy Day to the toddlers

And I started a giveaway of classics. Open for entries until a week Monday

3 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Sunday Surfing

3 responses to “Sunday Surfing 22/9/13

  1. Buying positive reviews: blah!

  2. I know, horrible practice!

  3. Reblogged this on The Picture Book Illustration Blog and commented:
    Amen Mr. Patterson! Amen!!

Leave a Reply

