1Q84 (book 2)- Haruki Murakami


Synopsis (from amazon)

The year is 1Q84.

This is the real world, there is no doubt about that.

But in this world, there are two moons in the sky.

In this world, the fates of two people, Tengo and Aomame, are closely intertwined. They are each, in their own way, doing something very dangerous. And in this world, there seems no way to save them both.

Something extraordinary is starting.

Review

You know what? I have missed Murakami. I struggled a little with 1Q84 book one and felt I needed a rest before book two. I wanted to read Murakami but I wasn’t letting myself read anything by him until I had read book two. So I waited and waited and waited. I finshed reading book 1 in April 2012. I started reading book two in August this year. That’s quite a gap.

I was a bit nervous that I would find book two hard, it’s part of the reason I left it so long. However it didn’t take long for me to wish that I had returned to the book sooner. Book two was much more classic Murakami. There were parts of it which reminded me of The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle (one of my favourite Murakami novels).

To give a review of a Murakami novel is really difficult. They’re so bizarre that you can’t really explain them, you have to experience them. Even though they have similar themes that you can compare to each other they continue to surprise you.

So what can I say about 1Q84? I loved it, I have the big hardback edition and towards the end I started carrying it with me to read rather than my kindle, I haven’t done something like that with a book for a long time, and never with a hardback. When I went to the new library I went and looked for, and borrow book 3 before I would even look around the library- because I knew I would want to start reading it straight away. It just had me hooked!

It had a plot which in ways was similar to a crime novel, you really wanted to know what would happen next. But of course with Murakami there are twists and plots which you couldn’t imagine in your wildest dreams. Things which could not happen in 1984, only 1Q84.

I can’t really say anything of substance, just if you too struggle with book one please, please, PLEASE, don’t give up! I promise it’s worth it.

5/5

Buy it:

Hardback- books 1 and 2 (£13.20)

Paperback- books 1 and 2 (£6.29)

Kindle- books 1 and 2 (£5.98)

Paperback- books 1, 2 and 3 (£9.09)

Other reviews:

Sam Still Reading (books 1 & 2)

Claire @ Word by Word (books 1 & 2)

Kate @ Nose in a Book (all books)

Una @ Keep Watching the Words (all books)

Marie @ Girl Vs Bookshelf (all books)

Have I missed your review? Post your link in comments and I will add it here.

 

14 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fantasy, Fiction review, Literary, Sci-Fi

14 responses to “1Q84 (book 2)- Haruki Murakami

  1. Wow.. I love Murakami as well. I need to get The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. Have you read Dance Dance Dance? Any thoughts on that?

  2. Thanks for the link to my review of the big fat hardback containing Books 1 & 2. Actually I read and reviewed Book 3 as well, if you want to link to that, my link text.

  3. Oops, sorry, clicked the wrong button, here is the link

  4. thanks for the great review. I have struggled with book one. I enjoy it, but am not compelled to read it and therefore pick it up and put it down. But I am a big Murakami fan and I realize that sometimes his work takes some time to get into. I will have to pick book one back up again.

  5. Thank you for the link. This is my favourite Murakami – it’s still got the magical realism, but I just got it!
    Will you read Book 3?

  6. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 15/9/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Hi Sam. I still think my favourite is Kafka on the Shore, but I will reserve judgement until I have finished. I’m reading book 3 now, and really enjoying it.

  8. I struggled a lot with book1, Michelle, it gets better towards the end though, and is worth it for book 2

  9. Hi Claire. I saw your review for book 3, but as I’m reading it at the minute I thought I would wait until I’d reviewed it to post that link. Thanks

  10. Hia. I haven’t read Dance, Dance, Dance yet. My favourite it Kafka on the Shore, but the Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is a close second, you should definitely read it.

  11. Great, enjoy Book 3, it was a real page-turner for me!

  12. Will do 🙂 Thanks for the recco.

  13. Pingback: Top 10 Sequels | Lucybird's Book Blog

  14. Pingback: 1Q84 (Book 3)- Haruki Murakami | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

