Sunday Surfing 8/9/13

bird surf

Those of you who follow me on twitter might have noticed I’m been posting a lot of links recently. Sunday Surfing is my new feature (inspired by Chrisbookarama‘s Friday Bookish Buzz, which is one of my favourite features) where I share my favourite links from during the week, about books and blogging.

Plus a little about what’s happened on the blog this week. Lets get started.

Around the web this week

The new Library of Birmingham opened and I went to visit

Poet Roger McGough is releasing children’s poem plates to encourage children to eat. And they’re free!

Reasons to buy used books. Hasn’t really convinced me to be honest, I like shiny new books.

4 Libraries changing lives. A bit IT heavy, but that’s a bog part of libraries now.

Win a Skype session with Neil Gaiman for you and your bookclub.

Writer who wrote about her escape from the Taliban has been killed. Warning this article may be distressing

2 sisters starting their own library

Proceeds from the sale of A Beautiful Truth with go to charity Save the Chimps. You can read my review of A Beautiful Truth here

To go with all my library related links this week my video is a timelapse of the old Victorian Birmingham Library being replaced in the 60s. Certainly I can say the new library is more attractive than that concrete monstrosity that replaced the Victorian library!

 

And on the blog this week…

I had a lot of books for It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

I talked about the opening of The Library of Birmingham with lots of my own pictures

I read Monday Run-day to the toddlers

And I reviewed A Cupboard full of Coats

You can still go and fill in my survey about the blog, if you haven’t yet please do so.

 

5 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Sunday Surfing

5 responses to “Sunday Surfing 8/9/13

  1. I like the Sunday surfing feature. A lot of interesting stuff. Thanks! I wish I had a book club so I could win the Neil Gaiman skype. That guy rocks.

  2. I buy used books, but I prefer shiny new ones too. There’s just something about a brand new book..

  3. There is isn’t there? I too will buy used books (usually from charity shops), but only because they’re cheaper.

  4. Thank you. You show check out Chris Book-a-ram’s Friday Bookish Buzz too, she’s my inspiration. I kind of wish I had a bookclub too, just to enter that competition.

  5. Pingback: Review of the Year 2013- Popular Posts | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

