Children’s Hour: Monday Run-day

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Monday run-day, children's book, picture book, books, nick sharratt
I don’t know what it is with out nursery but we seem to have a gazillion Nick Sharratt books, my two options for children’s hour this week were both by him. I decided to go with Monday Run-day. It’s a very simple story. I’m not even sure you can call it a story, it’s that simple. Basically it covers each day with a rhyme and an accompanying picture.

Monday run-day

Tuesday snooze-day

Wednesday friends-day

and so on.

It’s not a book that I would choose to buy or read myself, I find it rather boring, but the kids seem to enjoy it quite well. Possibly it’s because it’s quite easy for them to ‘read’ to themselves, maybe it’s the bright pictures. I have certainly seen more than one child make up their own story to go with the pictures, so in terms of them using their imagination it’s quite good.

The one thing I would say about it is that it does make a good book for learning the days of the week. With a rhyme for each day it’s easier to remember, and more fun.

Buy Monday Run-day:

Paperback (£3.99)

1 Comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

One response to “Children’s Hour: Monday Run-day

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 8/9/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

