The Starboard Sea- Amber Dermont

The Starboard Sea. book, book cover, Amber Dermont
Disclaimer: This book was sent to me free of charge (from the publisher) in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis (from amazon)

It is the summer of 1987. Jason Prosper is eighteen and on his way to Bellingham Academy, a school known for offering wayward privileged students a second chance – and Jason needs a second chance: ever since his best friend’s suicide, his life has been badly adrift. At Bellingham, Jason joins the sailing team, and meets a compelling young woman called Aidan. His friends warn him off, saying she is ‘damaged goods’. But Jason feels like damaged too, and the pair form an intense connection. But when a major hurricane gathers just off the coast, Jason’s world begins to cloud over again. And when the full extent of the storm’s damage is finally revealed, the truths it lays bare – and the secrets it dredges up – look set to alter the course of Jason life forever.

Review

This book took me quite a long time to read. Not exactly because I didn’t want to read it but mainly because initially I found it very difficult to feel anything for Jason, there was a certain impression that he was a bit of a spoilt rich boy. Although there was a sense that something had gone wrong for him it took too long to find out what it was. Once there was something there to feel emphatic about it became more easy to connect with Jason.

Once I felt I knew Jason a bit more my enjoyment increased, especially as he got to know Aidan too, I think she bought out the best in him. And Jason did redeem himself somewhat towards the end.

However it wasn’t until close to the end that I really found I cared about the story.

It wasn’t the best coming of age story. A bit difficult to relate to, I think. Or maybe I’m just to old to relate to teenagers in that way now?

3.5/5

Other reviews:

Buy it:
Paperback (£6.39)
Kindle (£0.99)
Hardback (£10.34)
4 Comments

Filed under Fiction review

4 responses to “The Starboard Sea- Amber Dermont

  1. I really liked this one when it came out. I love novels set at boarding schools, I think because I always wished I had gone to one. At any rate, for once the US cover of this one was better.

  2. I really enjoyed this novel, but I think it does start slowly, by the middle I think my love of it had sort of crept up on me.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 1/9/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 2/9/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

