It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 19/8/13

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Bookjourney Visit Book Journey for links to other blogs and to add your own.

Click images for amazon page.

Currently Reading

1Q84, Haruki Murakami, book, book cover

1Q84 Book 2– I read book 1 over a year ago, and struggled a little with it. Now I think I’m ready to tackle book two, I’m missing Murakami. So far it feels more promising than book one.

A cupboard full of coats, Yvvette Edwards, book, book cover
A Cupboard Full of Coats– is one that’s been on my kindle for quite some time. Is the story of Jinx. Jinx’s mother was murdered and Jinx’s feels responsible. Not sure what to think of it yet, I’m not very far in.


Finished Last Week.

ruth hamilton, that liverpool girl, book, book cover

That Liverpool Girl- a story set during WW2 following a family- some in Liverpool, and some evacuated. As a war story I was rather disappointed, but as a story in general it was ok. My review is written and scheduled for tomorrow.
the starboard sea, Amber Demont, book, book cover

The Starboard Sea– gosh how long have been reading this book? Seems like a long time. It did turn out ok in the end. It’s the story of a boy whose best friend committed suicide, and him getting his life back together. My review of this will hopefully be out sometime during the week too.

Reviews

where's igglepiggle's blanket, book, book cover, picture book, in the night garden

Where’s Igglepiggle’s Blanket was my Children’s Hour pick last week. It’s taken from the children’s television series, In the Night Garden, and is about Igglepiggle losing his blanket (believe it or not!)

Added to the TBR

dexter, dexter in the dark, jeff lindsay, book, book cover

Dexter in the Dark is the third book in the Dexter series (see my reviews of book 1 and book 2). In book three Dexter’s ‘dark passenger’ seems to have gone AWOL. This book came to me via bookmooch.

16 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! Waht are you reading?, Memes

16 responses to “It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 19/8/13

  1. New to me. Enjoy them all.

  2. I adored 1Q84! Hope Book Two shapes up to be great for you 🙂

  3. These are all new to me. I hope you are enjoying them. Here is my Monday Report. Have a great week!

  4. Cupboard Full of Coats looks intriguing…hope you enjoy your week. And yes, Andre Dubus III did write The House of Sand and Fog, which I loved. I also enjoy watching the movie over and over.

  5. Interesting books–haven’t read them yet–but hope you enjoy your reading this week!

  6. I am A spot of bother by Mark Haddon, that’s what I am reading right now, and loving it 🙂

  7. I read that a few years ago, found it a bit depressing to be honest!

  8. Thanks, Rita. You too

  9. I didn’t know there was a film, Laurel Rain. Will have to look it out once I’ve read the book.

    A Cupboard Full of Coats was a Booker nominee a couple of years ago, that’s where I heard of it.

  10. I am, thanks Kathy 🙂

  11. I hope so too Sam, at the moment it does seem to be going better than book 1 for me

  12. Initially I did. I am in the middle, and cannot predict how it turns out.

    Lets see 🙂

  13. Looks like a good week for you. I like A Cupboard of Coats…looks interesting.

    ENJOY your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  14. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 25/8/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  15. Zodleptocioli

    Pretty wonderful post. I just now stumbled upon the weblog in addition to wanted to state that I’ve definitely enjoyed browsing your blog blogposts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you publish once more in the near future!

Leave a Reply

