Children’s Hour: Where’s Igglepiggle’s Blanket?

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.
in the night garden, Igglepiggle, Where's Igglepiggle's Blanket?, book, book cover, picture book, Andrew Davenport

Where is Igglepiggle’s Blanket?  has to be one of the most annoying books I’ve had to read to the kids. Luckily for me the kids liked it a lot, and it wasn’t very hard wearing so soon became unreadable! You can imagine what happens. Igglepiggle has lost his blanket

“Don’t worry Igglepiggle, we’ll find your blanket”

The reader goes around asking the other characters from In the Night Garden if they’ve seen Igglepiggle’s Blanket, and each time they haven’t the above refrain is repeated. Occasionally we get a break because

“the tumbliphone is ringing”

but there’s just a strange noise at the end of the phone

“mee mee meee, meee meee mee mee”

And that keeps repeating. You can see it gets annoying. The children who were in toddlers when we had this book are now leaving (which means we had it about 2 years ago), so you can tell how easily it gets stuck in your head from me still being able to quote parts of it!

The kids though do love it. The story is easy to follow, and it features characters that the children know from In the Night Garden.

Andrew Davenport also wrote the Telletubbies books which may tell you something of what these books are like

Where’s Igglepiggle’s Blanket? is no longer in print but you an order it new or used:

Paperback- new (from £167.99)

Paperback -used (from £0.01)

 

7 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

7 responses to “Children’s Hour: Where’s Igglepiggle’s Blanket?

  1. God, this book sounds terrible, but I am sure my kids would love it, and all kinds of sound effects are possible, so fun story time after all.

  2. What sort of price is that for an annoying book? I’ve had picture books like that when the kids were small, but the repeating was fun. This book just doesn’t look very fun. I can see why you didn’t like it.

  3. I know! Exactly what I thought when I saw it, it’s not even a particularly hard wearing book. I suppose people think that because a book is out of print people will pay anything for it.

    Sometimes repetition can be fun, it helps the kids join in. Just not this time

  4. Yeah, Nish, the only good thing about it is that the kids love it! And in a way that’s the worst thing too, because it means you have to read it!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 18/8/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 19/8/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Children’s Hour: Messy Baby | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

