Film of the Book: One Day

Please note this post contains spoilers for both the book and the film One Day.

You can read my review of the book One Day here.

I was rather underwhelmed by the book One Day. It had so much buzz around it that I expected it to be something a bit special- at least as far a chick-lit is concerned. Not liking the book was part of the reason that it took me so long to watch the film. Having said that I do tend to prefer to watch chick-flicks than read chick-lit so I thought I might enjoy the film all the same. Plus it was less than £3 from HMV, so worth the risk I think.

As far as chick-lit is concerned it wasn’t the best there is. Maybe because it wasn’t terribly romantic, or happy (not that chick-flicks are always happy, or romantic when it comes down to it). Maybe because I didn’t like Dex and Emma pretty much got the raw end of the deal. She deserved better than him, but maybe that’s the way love is? And then she went and [highlight for spoiler]got hit by a truck, I mean, things were actually good for her (even if it meant being with Dex) and that happens! So unfair.

 

I had completely forgotten that the story didn’t end there. Maybe it should have, but in a way that’s cruel. I suppose it shows that we care about Dex that that as an ending might have been too brutal.

Also I think Dex might have been more of an ass in the film….maybe I just blocked it out!

Oh and you could kind of tell what was going to happen from the start- because the story started at the end for some weird reason.

As an adaptation it is pretty good. As a film? Simply ok.

Buy…

The film:  DVD (£3.00) Blu-ray/Triple Play (£10.10) DVD with Charlie St. Cloud and Remember Me (£12.07)

The book: Paperback (£3.85) Kindle (£2.99)

1 Comment

Filed under Film review

One response to “Film of the Book: One Day

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 18/8/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

