The Officer’s Lover- Pam Jenoff


Note: In the US this book is sold as Almost Home, which was changed for the UK sale. Personally I think the US name is more appropriate for the story (which is really a discussion for another day) but I’m referring to it as The Officer’s Lover because I’m based in the UK, and my Amazon links are for Amazon UK.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Ten years ago Jordan Weiss suffered the devastating death of her boyfriend Jared, a gifted rower at Cambridge. Since then work as an intelligence officer has taken her to the world’s hot spots where she has faced terrible dangers. However, it’s the thought of returning to England that haunts her most. But when Jordan learns that her best friend, Sarah, is terminally ill, she transfers to the State Department’s London office to be close to her. In London, she and rakish agent Sebastian Hodges are assigned to an investigation into mafia activities that quickly throws Jordan into a whirlwind drama of lies, cover-ups and corruption. Who can she trust? As she desperately tries to pull the pieces together, secrets start to emerge that are strangely connected to her past and will ultimately shape the course of her future …
Review
The Officer’s Lover had been on my wishlist for a long time, and on my shelf for almost as long and, you know what? I really wish I had picked it up sooner. I really didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did.
The story really got me hooked, with all it’s twists and turns. I thought I knew what was going to happen at several points, but then something else would be revealed and throw me right off track again. However one big thing that I expected, but thought might be  bit too clichéd did happen. I was happy because I wanted it to, but it was a little too perfect.
The end was rather open however, which I liked. It took away some of the perfection and meant you could make your own end up. However some people might like more of a sense of closure.
I really liked the main character, Jordan, and I wanted things to turn out well for her. There were a few points where I wanted to give her a shake, but that just made her all the more realistic. Seeing the story through her eyes was good too. It meant that we saw things as she saw them so we got all the same surprises as she did, and understand her judgements (even when I didn’t agree with them).
4.5/5
Buy it:
Paperback (£5.59)
Kindle (£5.51)
Other Reviews:
I’m sure I added this book to my wishlist because of a blogger’s review, but without a search function on my feed reader I have next to no hope of finding it 😦
If you have reviewed this book leave me a link in comments and I will add it here.
4 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Crime, Fiction review, Mystery

4 responses to “The Officer’s Lover- Pam Jenoff

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 21/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Changing Book Titles | Lucybird's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Deals of the Moment | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: The Kommandant’s Girl- Pam Jenoff | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

