Top 10 best and worst film adaptations

Top 10 Sites I Visit that AREN'T About Books

It’s Tuesday again so The Broke and the Bookish are hosting Top Ten Tuesday.

This week it’s top 10 best and worst film adaptations. I’m going to do a few of each. With links where I’ve reviewed them.

Best


Pride and Prejudice (link to book review) I really like both the BBC adaptation and the film version of this book. I probably prefer the BBC version, just because I grew up with it. I first saw the film with my Mum at the cinema, we were the only ones laughing for some reason.

 

 



The Lord of the Rings. Ok so I’ve never managed to finish the books yet. The furthest I’ve got is the founding of the fellowship. I don’t know why but I find them really difficult to get into. However I love the films, they’re much easier to digest.

 



The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy– I love this film, and the book. Both are funny and witty. They are rather different which means you can almost separate them. Douglas Adams actually did most of the work on the film script before he died, and you can tell.

 



The Hunger Games (book review) I think the film is a pretty good representation of a book I also enjoyed a lot. The tender moments were not as well done maybe, but I think it got the essence of the book. Can’t wait to see the next one.

 

 



Slumdog Millionaire/Q&A As with the Hitchhiker’s Guide, the film and book of Slumdog Millionaire are so different that it’s easy to separate them. The book is great, the film is great, but they don’t take anything away from one another

 

 

Twilight (book reviews of New Moon and Eclipse) this could easily have gone in either category. I have some sort of weird relationship with the Twilight books in that I hate them, I shout at them, I throw them across the room, I constantly complain about how horrible they are, yet I still read them, and there’s still a part of me that wants to finish the series (I haven’t yet read, or seen, Breaking Dawn). The films are bad, bad adaptations, and bad films fullstop, but they are so bad that they make me laugh (if I didn’t laugh I would probably cry at wasting my life on them!). So yeah, I enjoy them, but not for the reasons you’re meant to enjoy films.

Worst


The Hobbit. I love this book. My Mum read it to me as a child and I read it to myself as an adult. The film was just so long, and slow, why on earth they thought it would be a good idea to split it into 3 I do not know.


P.S I Love You My friend says it best about this film, they turn Holly into some crazy person who sees her dead husband everywhere, rather than a woman who finds comfort in the letters that he has sent her. Plus for some unknown reason they move the setting from Ireland to America.


The Harry Potter films (film 7 & 8, books 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7) The Harry Potter books were such an important part of my life for such a long time that it would have been very hard for me to accept a film which was less than perfect. I hate the changes, even the smallest ones. And Daniel Radcliffe has no emotion.


My Sister’s Keeper. They completely changed the outlook of the story, the book was about Ana, the film was about Kate. It went from emotional to syrupy.  Lots was cut, and the ending was changed (even though Picoult expressed the wish that it shouldn’t be)

12 Comments

Filed under Memes, Top 10 Tuesday

12 responses to “Top 10 best and worst film adaptations

  1. I have not read The hunger games and PS I love you and My Sisters Keeper.

    I agree with most of your choices. I love reading Lord of the Rings.

    Did not like either Q&A or the movie Slumdog.

    Nice post 😉

  2. ANN

    i agree with the Hunger Games and Slumdog Millionaire, but I actually enjoyed watching The Hobbit, especially my mom who’s really not into film like that. or maybe because i havent read the book yet? 🙂

    nice post 🙂

  3. Toots

    Do films of plays count? I love Baz Luhrmann’s ‘Romeo and Juliet’ (so do you 🙂 ) and also ‘West Side Story’ – have you seen it? It’s better than just the sum of its songs, although who could forget ‘I Want to be in America’ and ‘One Hand, One Heart’? And although it is obviously ‘Romeo and Juliet’ it also feels like authentic 50s, as far as a musical can be authentic! Maybe Luhrmann learnt that lesson well when he made his film, which feels so modern.

  4. I adore the BBC version of Pride & Prejudice. I didn’t think Kiera Knightley was right in that role, so the movie version isn’t for me.
    My Sister’s Keeper movie was okay, but I disliked how they altered it so much.

  5. I get what you’re saying about Twilight. As far as including important details – the actual adaptation itself – it’s pretty good. But, the acting – oh, the acting is terrible. It kind of ruined it for me.

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  6. Krista, I must admit I was so bust being frustrated with the book Twilight that I wouldn’t have remembered enough to notice any changes made in the film! You are certainly right about the acting though.

  7. Emma, I think I’m one of the only people who actually likes Kiera Knightly, a lot of people don’t seem to rate her as an actress. But I do think Jennifer Ehle made a better Lizzie, and Colin Firth made a better Darcy, and Julia Sawalha made a better Lydia. Actually most of the Bennett family were better cast!

    The My Sister’s Keeper film probably made me feel more for Kate, but there are plenty of straight cancer stories out there.

  8. Toots. I almost included Luhrmann’s Romeo and Juliet, but decided that as Romeo and Juliet was written to be acted I wouldn’t include it- even though it is one of my favourite films. Looking at other lists has made me think I should have included The Great Gatsby (instead of Twilight maybe?) which is another Luhrmann, and actually made me appreciate the book more, but I didn’t think of it at the time.

    I have wanted to see West Side Story for years, but somehow never had, although I’m very familiar with the songs. I have however seen the 1968 version which is more traditional, and also good. There’s a new version out later this year which I’m interested in too, although it looks a bit more racy from the trailer. (It has Brody from Homeland in it :))

  9. Ann. The Hobbit seems to be a bit of a marmite film, but from my experience those who love the book have been disappointed by the film.

    Thanks.

  10. Thanks.

    My Sister’s Keeper is one of my favourite books, you should read it. 🙂 I read P.S I Love you during my chick-lit phase, it’s not your stereotypical chick-lit, and it’s usually what I turn to when I want something easy to read. The Hunger Games is great too.

    I plan to try Lord of the Rings again some day, I feel if I can get past my sticking point I will enjoy it.

  11. Isi

    You should try again Lord of the rings, I’m sure that you couldn’t finished because it wasn’t the right moment, but I think it is a great reading!
    About Twilight, the last book is the worst, so I don’t recommend finish the series 😉 The films are horrible, I agree.
    And I have to sit down someday and watch the BBC series of Pride and Prejuice because I’ve seen in other blogs that it is very good.

  12. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 7/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

