It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 8/7/13

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Bookjourney Visit Book Journey for links to other blogs and to add your own.

Click images for amazon page.

Currently Reading

Dearly Devoted Dexter in the second book of the Dexter series (which starts with Darkly Dreaming Dexter) In this book Dexter has someone on his tail, and it’s driving him crazy.

The End of Your Life Book Club I had expected to finish this last week, but it’s going a bit slow. I’m still enjoying it, but it’s starting to drag a little. It follows a man and his mother- who has been diagnosed with incurable pancreatic cancer. It’s about terminal illness but also about their own little book club.

Finished Last Week.

Her Fearful Symmetry when Elspeth dies she leaves her estate to her twin nieces, but she can’t quite let go.

Reviews

Her Fearful Symmetry (see description above) wasn’t as good as the previous Niffenegger book, but still enjoyable. More of a story about families than a ghost story

 A Hug for Humphrey was my Children’s Hour pick last week. It’s the story of Humphrey trying to find out how he’s special.

Added to the TBR

Ruby’s Spoon is a book I won from Ali @ Heavenali. Is a book set locally to me, in the Black Country. Everyone in suspicous of a new woman in town, but Ruby is enchanted.

Charlie Says is a review request from an indie author which looks at what might have happened if Charles Mason was a part of The Monkees.

The Almond Tree is another review request. It’s the story of a Palestinian boy growing up in an Israeli controlled village

19 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! Waht are you reading?, Memes

19 responses to “It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 8/7/13

  1. Ruby’s Spoon sounds great! I wasn’t a big fan of Her Fearful Symmetry – mainly the ending.

  2. You have an interesting assortment of books there. I hadn’t heard of any of them before. My Monday Report is here. Happy reading!

  3. The Dexter books are a TV show too, maybe you’ve heard of that?

  4. Yeah, I had mixed feelings about the ended, I certainly thought it could be better

  5. Oh, I LOVED The End of Your Life Book Club! I listened to the audio, which was excellent! I’ve never read Her Fearful Symmetry, but I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife!!

  6. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    I had a bit of a hard time with The End of Your Life Book Club. I liked it, in parts. But it was a bit slow and perhaps not what I was expecting.

    I hope you have a great week of reading 😀

  7. Congratulations on winning Ruby’s spoon! (I also joined in for that book, so I am very curious to see how you like it)

    Have a great week & kind regards,

  8. I also found The End of Your Life Book Club dragged a bit in the middle, but I guess maybe it was the subject matter that dampened my enthusiasm. Ruby’s Spoon looks good. My daughters watch Dexter all the time and love the show; I don’t think either have read the books though.

  9. The Almond Tree sounds interesting. I hope you enjoy reading it! 🙂

  10. You confirmed my suspicion, that The End of Your Life Book Club might be a bit slow to read. I have a copy of it but it’s not on the top of my reading list yet.

    Have a good week!

  11. It was good to start with, but now it’s dragging a bit.

    Hope you have a good week too.

  12. It does, doesn’t it? I was very eager to snap it up

  13. The Dexter books are good. I haven’t watched the show yet. I wanted to read the books first, but now it’s been pulled from freeview :/

  14. I somehow managed to win 2 books that week! I should have played the lottery or something!

  15. It’s both not really a book about books or a book about cancer, isn’t it?

    Hope you have a great week too

  16. Her Fearful Symmetry is quite good, so long as you don’t compare it to much to The Time Traveller’s Wife

  17. Great week. I am sure The End Of Your Life Book Club is good. The author spoke at the BEA. VERY inspiring speaker.

    ENJOY your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2013/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-7813.html

  18. Elizabeth. I can see the author being inspiring, the way he speaks about books, and his mother, and his life is rather engaging. I am enjoying the book, it’s just a bit slow at the moment

  19. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 7/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

