It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 1/7/13

It’s been a while since I’ve taken part in It’s Monday! What are you reading?  (which is hosted by Bookjourney) but I have time to write the post this week so I thought, why not? Visit Book Journey for links to other blogs and to add your own.

Currently Reading

book, book 2 girls, book two girls, dark cover, black cover, book black, book dark, audrey niffenegger, her fearful symmetry

Her Fearful Symmetry This book has been on my To Be Read (TBR) pile for so long. I love Niffenegger’s previous novel, The Time Traveller’s Wife, and I’ve heard mixed reviews of this one, so I was a bit anxious about being disappointed by it. It’s the story of two girls who inherit their aunt’s house, except her ghost is still living there. So far I am enjoying it, just not as much as The Time Traveller’s Wife

the end of your life book club, book, Will Schwalbe

The End of Your Life Book Club is part memoir, part book about books. It mainly concerns Will and his mother. Will’s mother has stage 4 cancer (i.e. incurable). When in various waiting rooms Will and his mother start talking about the various books they are reading, and start reading and discussing the same books. It’s also a lot about how the mother and extended family cope with her illness. So far it’s actually been strangely uplifting, and I’ve added a few books to my wishlist.

Reviews

A beautiful truth, book, chimp, chimp book, Colin McAdam

A Beautiful Truth is a story about chimps. Louee who is adopted by a childless couple forms one part of the series, the other part follows chimps who are part of a language and social interaction study. I found it a little difficult to read but the plot was rather interesting.

Bing, Bing paint day, book, children's book, picture book, Ted Dewan, bunny, bunny book, rabbit, rabbit book, bing bunny

Bing- Paint Day was my Children’s Hour pick last week. It’s basically a book about colours as it talks about what Bing is painting with different colours.

Added to the TBR

The Second Last Woman to Die in England, book, black book, shoes book, Maggie Joel

The Second-Last Woman in England is about the second to last woman to be executed in England. I won this book from An Armchair by the Sea
Dexter, Dearly Devoted Dexter, book, black book, red book, black and red book, Jeff Lindsey

Dearly Devoted Dexter is the second book in the Dexter series. It’s been on my wishlist since I read the first, but I only just got a hold of it via bookmooch.

 

 

If you fancy winning a book too you can enter my giveaway of It Never Was You.

21 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! What Are You Reading?, Memes

21 responses to “It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 1/7/13

  1. I agree with you on the Audrey Niffenegger book. I loved The time traveller’s wife, and because I loved that so much, this book was a little bit disappointing. Not because it was a bad book, but because it was not as good as the first one.

    Have a great week & kind regards,

  2. I love the TV show Dexter… are the books really good as well? I think I’ll add them to my TBR, because I enjoy the show so much.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! post for this week.

    Happy reading 🙂

  3. I sometimes wonder when an author has one really good book that you love does it forever set their other books up for a fall as they have such high expectations to live up to ? Anyway thats a thought for another day I’m really interested in the Dexter series having not read any of them so I’m off now to check those out. Happy Reading.

  4. k2reader

    My husband just read all the Dexter books and really enjoyed them. I have The End of Your Life Book Club on my list to read…I’ve heard really good things about it.

    Here’s my It’s Monday post.

    Have a great week!

  5. I will have to read Her Fearful Symmetry and The Time Travelers Wife, I have somehow neglected to read either. And The Second-Last Woman in England sounds interesting!

  6. What a perfect match: I read and loved the Niffenegger book, I have a copy of A beautiful Truth! Which I’m planning to read soon. And I also have a copy of The End of Your Life Book club, but I don’t think I’ll have time to read that soon.

    Happy reading!

  7. Looks like a nice week for you.

    My “lineup” is in the link below.

    ENJOY your week. I wish it would stop raining here in Pittsburgh. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  8. Lol I think we visited each others blogs at the same time, I had just commented on your blog when wordpress told me you’d commented here

  9. 🙂 That’s part of the reason I like your blog, we have very similar taste. I’m really liking The End of Your Life Book Club, I think you will too.

  10. Oh do read The Time Traveller’s Wife, it’s amazing. It has a sci-fi element but it’s a love story really.

  11. The End of Your Life Bookclub does seem to be rather popular, and I can see why.

    Dexter isn’t my usual thing, but it has a nice twist from your stereotypical crime novels

  12. Dexter is good, a nice twist on your standard crime novel.

    The second novel thing is a bit like the difficult second album. There’s a lot of pressure, a lot of expectation, and everyone eager for something new. Niffenneger’s graphic novel is good though- it’s about books

  13. I’ve only read the first book, but I enjoyed that. Can’t really compare to the TV show though- I’ve only seen one episode- wanted to read the books first.

  14. That sounds about right so far.

    Hope you have a good week too

  15. Oh, I would read the books first, too, but I discovered the TV show when it first started, and I didn’t realize it was based on books.

  16. I will look into it, thank you. 🙂

  17. Her Fearful Symmetry was ok, but I didn’t love it. I hope you have a fantastic week!

  18. Thanks. Hope you have a brilliant week too

  19. That’s often the way isn’t it. I will get around to the TV series eventually

  20. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 7/7/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

