Sunday Surfing 30/6/13

bird surf

Those of you who follow me on twitter might have noticed I’m been posting a lot of links recently. Sunday Surfing is my new feature (inspired by Chrisbookarama‘s Friday Bookish Buzz, which is one of my favourite features) where I share my favourite links from during the week, about books and blogging.

Plus a little about what’s happened on the blog this week. Lets get started.

Around the web this week

The Daily Beast wondered if Murakami is really a good writer? An interesting article. It shouldn’t be true that a young writer can’t win the nobel prize for literature, or two writers from the same area win it consecutively, but maybe that is true.

Are children’s books darker than they used to be? The book doctor thinks not, only in a different way.

Jane Austen may feature on the new British Five Pound note. Certainly a famous writer, and she made an impact on writing, but if I could choose one British Writer to be on a bank note I don’t think it would be her.

The Huffington Post discussed changes made in the stories of film adaptations, and why some of them are unforgivable. It’s a difficult subject. Pretty much every change in Harry Potter if unforgivable for me, but that’s because I love the books so much. The dementors flying is my pet hate though.

21 graphic novels to get you started. I’ve read a few of these, maybe I should try some more?

Dyslexic chef (and healthy eating hero) Jamie has finished reading his first book. It wad Catching Fire, why he read the second in the series, but not the first I do not know, maybe he saw the film of the first. Flavorwire suggested 10 books he might want to consider reading next. Can’t say I agree with their list, lots of books which are hard to read for someone who doesn’t read.

I don’t know where in Green Eggs and Ham a guy tried to seduce his male friend, but apparently it has been banned for “homosexual seduction”. Fifteen Banned Children’s Books

Children’s authors recommend their favourite foreign children’s books. Some of these I know, most I don’t.

And finally paediatricians in America have been prescribing books to children, to help aid their development. Although it may not work with parents like this. This week’s video is another way literacy is being promoted for children in America

And on the blog this week…

I reviewed A Beautiful Truth

I read Bing- Paint Day to the toddlers

Plus there’s still time to enter my giveaway for It Never Was You

2 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Sunday Surfing

2 responses to “Sunday Surfing 30/6/13

  1. Some very interesting articles there, especially the one about film changes. Sometimes it works out, other times it’s dreadful.

  2. I tend to find if I read the book first I prefer the book, but often if I see the film first I feel like I’m just waiting for parts of the film when reading the book.

    Having said that there are some very good film adaptations out there.

Leave a Reply

