Sunday Surfing 23/6/13

bird surf

Those of you who follow me on twitter might have noticed I’m been posting a lot of links recently. Sunday Surfing is my new feature (inspired by Chrisbookarama‘s Friday Bookish Buzz, which is one of my favourite features) where I share my favourite links from during the week, about books and blogging.

Plus a little about what’s happened on the blog this week. Lets get started.

 

Around the web this week

100% of the fiction reviewers and authors in the London Review of Books were men last year. Yeah not a single man. And I thought that the world was getting less sexist. They didn’t do much better when it came to non-fiction.

The Guardian talked about how self-publishing (especially e-pub) is giving authors more control but that doesn’t mean traditional publishers have to worry personally I love supporting indie authors, but am more likely to expect qulity from a traditional publishing house.

Who’s your favourite Roald Dahl character? I wonder how many bibliophiles will automatically respond, “Matilda”?

Open Culture presented Hemingway’s reading list for aspiring writers but I prefer Matt Haig’s tips. Beware, high in the ****ing swear words.

These disappointing facts about books make me sad. I was never embarrassed to be seen reading as a kid. Maybe that’s why I wasn’t so popular at school?

Are you Neil Gaiman? Find out with Bookriot’s flow chart. Sadly I am not ūüė¶ (but I do like bookriot flow charts!)

Commenting on blogs- how to do it right. You know if you comment on this post I will totally visit back ūüėČ

I’ll leave this section with James Gandolfini reading In The Night Kitchen- somehow he makes it more sinister.

And on the blog this week…

I reviewed Northwest Corner

I read Cock A Moo Moo to the kids

I reviewed It Never Was Youand started a giveaway off

And Mike Harris posted a guest post about the process of editing and publishing his father’s book.

4 Comments

Filed under general, Memes, Sunday Surfing

4 responses to “Sunday Surfing 23/6/13

  1. Toots

    I agree. The bakers seem to be subtly threatening. Love his reading!

  2. It’s almost scary. Wish I could read it to the kids at nursery, but not sure how approving parents would be (boo!)

  3. Matilda? No, she wouldn’t be near the top of my list at all. My favourite is George, closely followed by Charlie and Mr Wonka, then The BFG. Does that make me weird?!

  4. Lol, no, not at all. I cheat and say mine is Roald Dahl himself (seeing as he features in Boy, and Going Solo), after all he created all the others, and some of his tales as a boy are just as good as his characters!

Leave a Reply

