Northwest Corner- John Burnham Schwartz

Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book free of charge (from the publisher) in exchange for an honest review.

Northwest Corner is the sequel to Reservation Road.

Synopsis (from amazon)

Twelve years after a tragic accident and a cover-up that led to prison time, Dwight Arno, now fifty, is a man who has started over without exactly moving on. Living alone in California, haunted yet keeping his head down, Dwight manages a sporting goods store and dates a woman to whom he hasn’t revealed the truth about his past. Then an unexpected arrival throws his carefully neutralized life into turmoil and exposes all that he’s hidden. Sam, Dwight’s estranged college-age son, has shown up without warning, fleeing a devastating incident in his own life. In its way, Sam’s sense of guilt is as crushing as his father’s. As the two men are forced to confront their similar natures and their half-buried hopes for connection, they must also search for redemption and love. In turn, they dramatically transform the lives of the women around them: the ex-wives, mothers, and lovers they have turned to in their desperate attempts to somehow rewrite, outrun, or eradicate the past. Told in the resonant voices of everyday people gripped in the emotional riptide of lived life, Northwest Corner is at once tough and heart-lifting, an urgent, powerful story about family bonds that can never be broken and the wayward roads that lead us back to those we love.

Review

Someone please tell me there’s going to be another one of these? I’m not sure how feasible it is but I want to see what happens next.

I actually couldn’t see how a sequel could be written for Reservation Road prior to reading Northwest Corner, but it was done pretty well. You probably don’t need to have read Reservation Road to be able to enjoy Northwest Corner, the background which effects the plot of Northwest Corner is explained, however I think that it does mean that you can more easily understand the characters and their emotions. And more easily view ‘current’ events in light of what has happened in the past.

Whilst Reservation Road was about, essentially, two fathers, Northwest Corner was  largely about their children. It was interesting to see how the actions of one generation could effect the next.

I came to really like Sam, although parts of me felt that maybe I shouldn’t. There was something strangely fragile about him that made him rather endearing, despite evidence to the contrary.

It was Ruth that I really cared about by the end though, and why I want the story to continue.

4.5/5

Buy it:

Paperback (£7.81)

Kindle (£3.99)

Hardback (£11.89)

Other Reviews:

Lit and Life

Have I missed your review? Link me in comments and I will add it here

3 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

3 responses to “Northwest Corner- John Burnham Schwartz

  1. The Little Reader Library

    I liked this one too, I hadn’t read Reservation Road though I’d like to.
    http://thelittlereaderlibrary.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/northwest-corner-john-burnham-schwarz.html

  2. Ooh yes, I remember reading your review. I will reeded your link

  3. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 23/6/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

