Top 10 books dealing with tough issues

Top 10 Sites I Visit that AREN'T About Books

It’s Tuesday again so The Broke and the Bookish are hosting Top Ten Tuesday.

This week it’s top 10 books which deal with tough issues.

1) Handle with Care- Jodi Picoult. In this book a mother is suing her midwife believing that she should have been told that her daughter would be born with brittle bones. It’s difficult because it suggests that if the mother had known she would not have continued with the pregnancy. It also follows her daughter and the issues she has. All of Picoult’s books deal with tough issues but this one hits harder to home because I have a similar (though less severe) condition. Which I talked about in my review

2) Eva- Peter Dickinson I read this as a teenager and it’s still one of my most recommended books. It’s a strange sort of animal rights book. It’s set in the future and a girl who was in a major accident has her brain transplanted into a chimpanzee. She finds herslef in a sort of limbo between the world of the chimps and the human world.

3) Night Waking- Sarah Moss at time of writing this is my current read (although I’ll probably have posted the review before this post goes up). The story focuses on a mother and all her issues with being a mother. She finds a baby’s skeleton in her garden and becomes obsessed with finding out who it was. There are quite a few issues covered, working parents,  child abuse, death, infanticide, anorexia. It’s a tough read emotionally but worth it I think.

4) Reservation Road- John Burnham Schwartz This novel follows a family after their child is killed by a hit and run driver, and follows the driver of the car.

5) Bad Girls- Jacqueline Wilson until I was about 14 I used to read every single one of Jacqueline Wilson’s books, all of which deal with issues faced by children. Bad Girls, which talks about bullying, peer pressure, and friends was one of my favourites. It was the story of Mandy who is bullied by her classmates. One day she meets Tanya and they become friends, but is Tanya more trouble that she’s worth.

6) Deenie- Judy Blume Another author, one read by most teenagers, who deals with teenage issues this time. Deenie is a popular girl then she finds out she has a curved spine and will have to wear a back brace. Basically tragedy to a teenager.

7) Speak- Laurie Halse Anderson is another I read as a teenager. A teenage girl starts high school after an event at a party led her to call the police. She’s basically a social outcast, and she still can’t talk about what happened.

8) Room- Emma Donoghue is the story of a woman who was kipnapped and had her abductor’s child. Hard hitting but fantastically written.

9) Mockingbird- Kathryn Erkskien is the story of an autistic girl who looses her brother. We see her life and her brother’s death thorough her eyes.

10) Middlesex- Jeffrey Eugenides follows Cal as she grows up. Cal knows she is different but doesn’t realise that she is actually neither female or male.

 

Special mentions go to The Help, The Virgin Suicides, books by Paula Danziger, and Kerb Crawling

10 Comments

Filed under Memes, Top 10 Tuesday

10 responses to “Top 10 books dealing with tough issues

  1. ANN

    i’ve read ‘Room’ and its one of my favorite book ever!

  2. This is a great list! Handle with Care, Room, Deenie and all Jacqueline Wilson’s books are AWESOME! I’m very interested in reading Middlesex, Speak and Eva too, they sound awesome.

  3. I love your list – and every book reminded me of one I forgot to put on my list! Funny how that works. I’d love to read Reservation Road, and Eva sounds interesting. I remembered to put Room on my supplemental list (I couldn’t stop at 10!), and I loved Middlesex, that’s a fantastic book. Oh lots here for me to look into!

    And you’re so right about Jodi Picoult – I kinda forgot about her when I was making my list but of the three books of hers I’ve read, they’re all about tough subjects and sometimes moral or ethical grey areas.

    My TTT.

  4. Thanks 🙂 I’ve got the sequel to Reservation Road on my TBR pile, should really move it up!

    I like Picoult. She manages not to be same-old-same-old even though her books have a lot of common factors

  5. Middlesex is one of those books that you can only say READ IT! about, it’s more difficult to say why it’s so fantastic. I don’t think Eva is being published anymore (sadly) but I remember it very fondly and I borrowed it for the library more than once as a teenager.

  6. Such a great list, particularly the Jacqueline Wilson. I remember my grandmother used to be appalled at those books as she didn’t feel it was appropriate reading matter for a young girl, as the subject matter was far too weighty.

  7. My Mum introduced me to them, I think. She was always good at finding book I’d like, she got me Speak too.

  8. I read Middlesex years ago thinking it was simply about greek immigrants. Ha! It was so much more and so very well done.

Leave a Reply

