Lost and Found- Tom Winter

Synopsis (from amazon)

It started with a letter …

Carol is married to a man she doesn’t love and mother to a daughter she doesn’t understand. Crippled with guilt, she can’t shake the feeling that she has wasted her life. So she puts pen to paper and writes a Letter to the Universe.

Albert is a widowed postman, approaching retirement age, and living with his cat, Gloria, for company. Slowly being pushed out at his place of work, he is forced down to the section of the post office where they sort undeliverable mail. When a series of letters turns up with a smiley face drawn in place of an address, he cannot help reading them.

Review

Lost and Found is a rather quaint story. I don’t exactly have much to say about it. It’s not exciting, and although not exactly predictable nothing happens which you wouldn’t really expect, it could quite easily be true.

That is not to say that it isn’t enjoyable to read. It had quite a conversational style which I enjoyed, and the characters were believable and likeable, especially Albert.

I didn’t really like the ultimate decision which Carol made, but I did understand it, and maybe if she had made the other decision it would have made for a less enjoyable story.

3.5/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£3.99)
Hardback (£8.31)

Other reviews:

Did I miss your review? Post a link in comments and I will add it here.
4 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

4 responses to “Lost and Found- Tom Winter

  1. I enjoyed it too – made very satisfactory reading to pass the time while waiting to pick someone up from a hospital appointment…

  2. The Little Reader Library

    I enjoyed this one, found it a fairly quick read for me. Thanks very much for linking to my review Lucy.

  3. You’re welcome. It was a quick read and easy, which is sometimes just what you need

  4. I kind of wish I had saved it for my hospital appointment today. Emma was just a bit much for the waiting room!

Leave a Reply

