Children’s Hour: Hickory Dickory Dock

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Hickory Dickory Dock, Picture book, childreen's book, book, book review

Image from mikelockett.com

Hickory Dickory Dock  is one of the other books which I got sent along with Monkey and Rabbit Together. Personally it’s probably my least favourite of the three which the author sent to me but the children seem to like it the most (which is what’s important really). I think what they like about it is that it’s familiar but different. The story is a sort of extension of the rhyme Hickory-Dickory-Dock and repeats lines from the rhyme which make it easy for the children to follow and join in with. It also rhymes which give a nice sing song rhythm. However I feel sometimes clarity is sacrificed in favour of rhyme, for example it talks of playing games “like seek and hide” which is a bit of a odd way to say playing hide and seek- as someone has to hide before you can look for them!

Again I really like the pictures in this book. They almost look like they’re textured and you can imagine how is might feel to be in a clock with a mouse from them.

Hickory Dickory Dock is not available in the UK but you can get it shipped from The Book Depository for free:

Hardback (£12.03)

1 Comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

One response to “Children’s Hour: Hickory Dickory Dock

  1. Pingback: Children’s Hour: The Cat and the Mouse | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

