The Pearl Savage- Tamara Rose Blodgett

This book was read as part of the Out of Your Comfort Zone Challenge. This month we were looking at blogs which review books we don’t normally read and read a book reviewed on that blog. I found a review of the third book in this series on Parajunkee’s View and read the first.

Synopsis (from amazon)

Seventeen-year old princess, Clara Williamson, lives an old-fashioned existence in a biosphere of the future.
When her sadistic mother, Queen Ada, betroths her to an abusive prince of a neighboring sphere, Clara determines to escape Outside where savages roam free.

Clara escapes tyranny only to discover the savages are not the only people who survived the cataclysmic events of one hundred forty years prior.

Once Outside, Clara finds herself trapped, unable to return to the abusive life of the sphere while facing certain danger Outside.

Can Clara find love and freedom with the peril that threatens to consume her?

Review

When I was younger I used to make up a story in bed every night whilst trying to get to sleep. It was a story which was basically the same every night, but changed and adapted over time. One thing stayed the same though. A princess who didn’t really want to be a princess, or at least not the princess her mother wanted her to be, but the people were important to her so she was looking forward to changing things once she became queen. At first The Pearl Princess reminded me a bit of my story, and I didn’t really like that. It was disconcerting and because I knew my story so well this one just didn’t meet up. It made it a little difficult to approach the book without a bit of a wonky view point, and early on I did consider giving up, but I did stick with it, and, generally speaking, I was glad that I didn’t give up.

I didn’t find that the writing of The Pearl Savage was particularly good. I found the battle scenes in particular lacked real action and weren’t very descriptive. However after a while the plot interested me enough to generally not be too bothered by the less than great writing. Only the battle scenes were really off putting.

The end was perfectly open for a sequel, although the books could easily have been closed as it was. It’s something that frustrates me a little as it means I want to read to some sort of conclusion but I really don’t think I’m willing to pay for a book in this series (the first is free on kindle). There are 4 books so far (with a 5th planned for release this year)and I certainly don’t want to be caught in a series trap.

2.5/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£0.00)

Other reviews:

Contagious Reads (Lori also reviews on Parajunkee’s View)

Have I missed your review? Leave me a link in comments and I will add it here.

5 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction review, Paranormal

5 responses to “The Pearl Savage- Tamara Rose Blodgett

  1. I have this book and I have the second in the series too. I think I won them a long while ago. I am planning to read this for the eclectic reader challenge – but from your review, I wonder what I’ll think of it. I’m not keen on battle scenes either. I do like reading out of my comfort zone for a change. We’ll see.

    Well done for reading this!

  2. Definitely doesn’t sounds like something I would read!

  3. I imagine it’s not the sort of things that would appeal to a lot of my readers, as I don’t usually read these types of things. Biut it certainly got me pout of my comfort zone.

  4. Pingback: Fyre- Angie Sage | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Review of the Year 2012- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

