Children’s Hour: Come Back Soon

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Come Back Soon is the story of Ollie. Ollie’s Mum and Dad need to go away, so they leave Ollie with his Grandma and promise to come back after just one sleep. It’s very obviously one of the type of books which is written to convey a message, in this case that Mummy and Daddy might go away, but they will soon come back. In that sense it is the perfect book to read in a nursery, but it’s not a particularly interesting story, the best bit is Grandma making up a song about how Mum and Dad would be coming back soon. The pictures are beautiful as well.

Buy Come Back Soon:

Paperback (£5.39)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

Leave a Reply

