What Would Rory Read?

tumblr_mdyqyo0YKt1qabn7mo3_250

(credit)

The Rory Challenge has been my longest standing challenge, it dates from the days before my book blog. The idea is to read books from the list of books which are mentioned or seen in the television show The Gilmore Girls.

Recently I’ve found that I’ve been reading books and thought ‘This is a book Rory would read’ if the show still existed. I think as I’ve read more from the list I’ve started to see a bit more what Rory’s taste is, and what her motivations for reading some books may be. Knowing her from the show certainly helps too.

So basically this post is like an extended Rory list. A list of books I think Rory might have read if the series continued. If you can think of any more I’d love for you to tell me in comments.

I’m including books which were released since the show finished and whilst it was still running, because she didn’t only read current books after all. I’ve only included books I’ve read.  I have some ideas for books I haven’t read which seem like they may fit on Rory’s list but can’t judge so well on these.

So without further ado…

The Etymologicon– What girl who wants The Complete Oxford English Dictionary more than any other book wouldn’t want to read a book all about words?

The Lover’s Dictionary– I can see Rory getting into the understated beauty of this one. It seems like it would fit with the poetic side of her.

How to be a Woman– Not sure how popular this one has been in the US but it’s feminist side would attract Rory I think, and if she had any knowledge of Caitlin Moran through her articles (as with Nick Hornby) I think she  might enjoy her writing style and want to read her book.

Anything by Murakami– How Rory managed to avoid Murakami I have no idea. He’s had quite a cult following for years and his first popular novel was released in the early 80s. She would totally love him. There’s a fair bit of translated fiction in her reading history too, although I don’t think any of it is Japanese.

Living Dolls: The Return of Sexism– There are a lot of feminist books on Rory’s list. I can certainly see her wanting to read a modern feminist’s view of the world.

Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series– would appeal to the book lover in her, I’m sure she would get a kick out of all the literary references.

The Help– Rory seems to like fiction about those who are marginalised (e.g. To Kill a Mockingbird, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest). I think The Help would appeal to that side of her, would be quite a good contrast to Gone with the Wind too.

Midnight’s Children– actually I mean anything by Salman Rushdie, but Midnight’s Children is the one I’ve read. I think Rory would enjoy the beautiful and complex language. Links well with her classics.

Oranges are not the Only Fruit– would both fit with her feminist side and her like of stories about the marginalised. Another one I’m surprised isn’t already on the list.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas– There a lot of war writing (mainly focused around the Jews) on Rory’s list. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is one of the most popular in recent years and looks at the same area from a slightly different perspective.

 

Are you a fan of The Gilmore Girls? What books do you think would have made The Rory List if the series had continued?

 

7 Comments

Filed under Musings

7 responses to “What Would Rory Read?

  1. Isi

    I haven’t watched the TV serie, but I’ve seen the challenge also in the Spanish blogs, I mean the one with the never-ending list of books the girl reads, but I like your idea about telling what she would read now! You are a great fan, I’m sure 😀

  2. It’s a good show, and easy to watch. The Rory list is very long, not sure I will ever complete it!

  3. What a great idea for a post. I’ve been missing The Gilmore Girls over the past couple of months and can’t wait for another rewatch. I suspect as she’s such a big Dave Eggers fan (she has a poster of him in one of her college dorm rooms) then she would have read more of his works than just the one on the Rory List, plus probably some works by other authors in that same literary circle, such as Vendela Vida (Eggers’ wife) and Heidi Julavits. Oh, and Miranda July I suspect would appeal to Rory too – quirky, feminist, indie.

  4. I haven’t really explored Eggers (mainly because I didn’t really like A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius), but you could well be right there. I will have to look out those other authors.

  5. Pingback: The Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge | Hungry Lindsay

  6. I’m a huge Gilmore Girls fan. In fact, it’s my go-to when I’m cleaning the house; by now I pretty much know each episode by heart so I don’t have to pay much attention. I find this series to be hugely comforting, and I think that’s at least partially because of Rory’s bookishness.
    I like the books you’ve selected, I think Rory would appreciate them too!

  7. I’ve been watching obsessively recently! I’m even watching it now (the one where Loreali goes on a coffee test drinking date then says she’ll go fishing)

Leave a Reply

