Children’s Hour: How Santa Really Works (Pop-Up)

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

I’m glad that the first Children’s Hour of the year is technically still being posted during the Christmas season because it means I can spotlight How Santa Really Works. My niece (who is 3) has really been liking this book whilst she has been staying with us. The book tells us all about what happens in Santa’s workshop, and on his journey at Christmas. The word part of the story are quite simplistic, but still interesting. Really however the pop-up pictures are what make the book. Each page contains a very detailed images with almost endless things for the kids to find. One page even includes little letters to Santa which you can read.

Image from booktopia

The ideas behind how Santa works are pretty ingenious- but probably more interesting for the adult reader than for the children themselves, not that that matters, it’s good for the adult to be entertained too. It’s a really good discussion book for everything the kids can find. It would actually be nice to show the kids at work, but I doubt the pop-ups would last even a day! Certainly a book to share in your family, not with a big group of kids.

There is also a version of How Santa Works without pop-ups, the pictures do look like they would still be interesting, but not as good I think.

Buy How Santa Works:

Hardback (£8.96)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

Leave a Reply

