Children’s Hour: The Nutcracker

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.


This week’s Children’s Hour is a bit different. I was sent The Nutcracker by the wonderful people at Random House for review. Unfortunately it was a bit too grown-up for any of the kids in the nursery, so I read it myself to review over Christmas. The Nutcracker is the classic story of mouse armies, and toy armies- all started when a ugly nutcracker arrives at Christmas. It’s best known as a ballet with music written by Tchaikovsky.

This particular edition is accompanied by the illustrations of Maurice Sendak- best known as author of Where the Wild Things Are. For me those pictures were what made the book. They were exciting, and sometimes a little scary- in the same sort of way as the wild things are in Where the Wild Things Are. Paired with the words they made things really easy to imagine, especially when the language was a little old fashioned.

There are a lot of words in this book, and it takes a little time for the real story to start, so I wouldn’t recommend it for any child under the age of at least 7.

There is currently a giveaway of this book being hosted right here on Lucybird’s Book Blog. Whynot stop over and enter?

Buy The Nutcraker:

Hardback (£9.59)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

Leave a Reply

