What Alice Forgot- Liane Moriarty

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Imagine losing the most important ten years of your life …

Alice is twenty-nine.She adores sleep, chocolate, and her ramshackle new house.She’s newly engaged to the wonderful Nick and is pregnant with her first baby.

There’s just one problem.All that was ten years ago …

Alice has slipped in a step-aerobics class, hit her head and lost a decade.Now she’s a grown-up, bossy mother of three in the middle of a nasty divorce and her beloved sister Elisabeth isn’t speaking to her.This is her life but not as she knows it.

Clearly Alice has made some terrible mistakes.Just how much can happen in a decade?

Can she ever get back to the woman she used to be?

Review

I’ve had What Alice forgot on my wishlist for quite a long time after seeing it on lots of blogs. So when it came up as the Kindle Daily Deal recently I snapped it up.

I wasn’t expecting some great life changing read, but I was expecting something quick and easy, with a decent amount of emotion- it seemed like the perfect book to read alongside The Virgin Suicides (which I will be reviewing later this week). In that sense I did get what I expected, but it was a bit more chick-litty than I expected. There was more of a love element than I had really expected, and whilst I liked Nick I didn’t think that would be what Alice would have been most focused on in real life.  After all she forgot her kids but still had to look after them! Surely that would be of more importance to her.

I did like the characters, especially Alice’s Great-Grandmother.

I would say this is an enjoyable read, but don’t go into it expecting a lot of substance.

3/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£3.99)

Paperback (£5.15)

Other Reviews:

DizzyC’s Little Book Blog

Did I miss your review? Leave me a link in comments and I will add it here

6 Comments

Filed under Chicklit, Fiction review

6 responses to “What Alice Forgot- Liane Moriarty

  1. Thanks for the review, sounds like an interesting but light read

  2. It is. Good for f you need a break but don’t want something too run-of-the-mill

  3. I loved chick-lit, but I would have expected a bit more from this book too (I have heard about it and was interested in it). Maybe with the right readin-approach I might still enjoy it, but it doesn’t sounds quite as good as I’d imagined. Thanks for the review.

  4. Yeah, it wasn’t what it could be, but I think with the right mind frame you could still enjoy it.

  5. Pingback: The best laid plans – “What Alice Forgot” by Liane Moriarty « Reading Through the BS

  6. Pingback: Deals of the Moment | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

