Bookish Gifts

Last year I did a whole series of posts on bookish gifts, this year I’m going for one longer post. Some of the links on the old posts are still active, so it’s worth a little look if you like this sort of thing.

These are things you could buy for the bookish people in your life which aren’t books.

This George’s Marvellous Medicine mug from The Roald Dahl Museum has the lovely art of Quentin Blake and words from Roald Dahl. There are also mugs with he BFG, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Fantastic Mr Fox, The Twits, James and the Giant Peach, The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me, The Enormous Crocodile, and The Witches on, but I think George’s Marvellous Medicine fits a mug more.

 

 

One of the kids at work had this Gruffalo Hoodie and it’s one of the cutest things ever. The horns on the head turn your little monster into a monster. It looks lovely and warm too. It comes from Debenhams

I loved The Tiger Who Came to Tea as a kid (and I still do now really). Now the art is one of my favourite things so I really like this print avaliable at Waterstones.

 

Ok so half of what I love about this necklace from Keoni Design @ etsy is that it has a bird on, but I also love that it has a book and it’s a locket (so you can be really stalker-ish and put  in photos of your favourite authors. Or you know maybe of the lovely people you love just as much as your books

 

 

This simple but still very lovely cat bookmark puts me much in mind of Haruki Murakami. Also available from Waterstones.

 

An Out of Print hoodie was included in my list last year. This year I’m going for a ebook cover. I’m quite partial to the Pride and Prejudice cover but this Alice in Wonderland one is my favourite. It’s avaliable for the Kindle Fire, Nexus 7, and iPad

Back to etsy. AppleBeads85 will make you any miniature book charm you request, great ways to show off your favourite book. Do look to see what she already makes before putting in your order as she may already make the book you want to request.

 

If you’re feeling very generous you could buy your favourite bookist (me, right?) a chair-come-bookcase on wheels. Then you can wheel me them around as they read! This is on sale at (smow). In addition tp shelves there is a reading lamp and secret compartments for writing implements

 

 

Feeling a bit more broke? Why not make an inverted bookshelf instead?

8 Comments

Filed under general

8 responses to “Bookish Gifts

  1. I really like the idea of the upside-down bookshelf! You can stack both sides. Perfect for when you haven’t got enough space 🙂

  2. It’s good isn’t it? Only probem is I would worry about the books at the bottom getting damaged

  3. Isi

    I find that shelf very disturbing 😉
    I like the mug, the necklace and the bookmark. A great idea to use it for Murakami’s novels!!

  4. lol, it is a bit peculiar, that’s what I like about it.

    I think Murakami’s novels should go on the bookshelf too. They would appreciate the quirky nature of an upside down shelf!

  5. I’m not a massive jewellery fan but I love that necklace it’s perfect! I find the shelf picture a bit disturbing too!! These are lovely ideas.

  6. It’s beautiful, isn’t it?

  7. Pingback: Children’s Hour: The Gruffalo | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Bookish Gifts 2013 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

