Children’s Hour: Six Dinner Sid

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Six Dinner Sid is about a cat (called Sid, believe it or not!) who manages to convince every family in one street that he is their cat. Which means, of course, that he gets 6 dinners every night! This reminds me so much of my cat (who has frequently tried to trick us into giving him 2 breakfasts) that it just makes me laugh. It’s more one for the Pre-Schoolers than for the Toddlers really. They find it amusing, especially when Sid is taken to the vet by every single family. The pictures are rather beautiful and quite realistic. It’s quite enjoyable to read as an adult too which helps, especially as Sid is definitely a cat- his character is just perfect (or should I say purrr-fect haa haa!)

Buy Six Dinner Sid:

Paperback (£4.19)

Board Book (£5.39)

2 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

2 responses to “Children’s Hour: Six Dinner Sid

  1. Never heard of it before, sounds like a cute story my kids would love. Plus, Sid sort of looks like our cat Dusty.

  2. It is cute. I believe there’s a sequel too but I’ve not read it

Leave a Reply

