Children’s Hour: Some Dogs Do

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

The kids love Some Dogs Do at the moment, I however fnd it really grates on me for some reason, maybe because it’s a little twee. It tells the story of a dog (Sid) who discovers he can fly, but nobody believes him because

You’re a dog,

And dogs don’t fly.

and soon Sid starts to doubt himself.

The whole book is written in a sing-song rhyme. It’s part of what I don’t like about the book, although generally rhyme in children’s books is a good thing. It has a pretty nice message about believing in yourself and not letting others put you down, but I think it may be too subtle for toddlers, it’s probably more the rhyme and the flying dogs they enjoy.

Buy Some Dogs Do:

Paperback (£4.49)

Book and DVD (£5.99)

3 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

3 responses to “Children’s Hour: Some Dogs Do

  1. Isi

    Well, it’s OK if children like the book, right?
    I like the illustration of the dog 🙂

  2. Yeah, but it’s nice to enjoy reading it yourself as well. The pictures are nice and bright.

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Toddler’s Top 10 Books | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

