It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 26/11/12

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Bookjourneygo there to add your link 🙂

Currently Reading

All About Love: The Anatomy of An Unruly Emotion- Lisa Appignanesi. This is a book about the mind, psychology and love. So far she seems to be drawing a lot on personal experience, and there is only a very personal psychology element, but I am only about 18 pages in! I picked it up in a bookshop all the way back in January and started reading it right there but somehow never went back to it until now. It’s been a long time since I read a psychology book so I’m looking forward to this one.

Garden of Stones- Sophie Littleford I go an advance copy of this via netgalley. I have pretty much finished it already even though I only started it late on Saturday, but probably won’t post the review until February (when t is out in the UK). It’s the story of Lucy a Japanese-American living in America during the second world war. After Pearl Harbour Japanese-Americans as suspected of being spies and sent to detainment camps. Lucy and her mother are amongst these people. Garden of Stones follows Lucy through the camp and how she tries to reconstruct her life afterwards. So far it hasn’t been exactly as I had expected, but it is very moving and I am really enjoying it.

Finished Last Week.

The Picture of Dorian Gray- Oscar Wilde most people know the basics of this story. Dorian Gray has a portait of himself which ages whilst he stays young. I enjoyed this a fair bit despite expecting it to be a bit more sci-f based. It was scay in it’s own way, and some points were frankly disturbing. Indeed a death in The Picture of Dorian Gray was featured in Shortlist’s 40 Most Gruesome Deaths recently (beware spoilers!) and although I don’t agree with all of them, this one I do.

Reviews

The Thief- Fuminori Nakamura was a book I enjoyed but didn’t quite meet up to my expectations. It is the story of a Japanese pickpocket who manages to get himself involved in a political scandal.

Hurry Home Spider- David Crossley was my Children’s Hour pick last week. It follows a spider on his journey home, and all the dangers he encounters.

Added to the TBR

The Horologicon- Mark Forsyth I loved The Etymologicon when I read it a few weeks ago, and was super excited when my request to The Horologicon from netgalley was accepted. I can’t wait to get started on this one. As with The Etymologicon this book is all about words. This time about forgotten words.

The Complication of Sisters- Katherine Mariaca-Sullivan Was given to me by the author for review. It contains a number of short stories all about sisters.

 

15 Comments

Filed under It's Monday! Waht are you reading?, Memes

15 responses to “It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 26/11/12

  1. I’ve heard of Sophie LittlefIELD but I don’t think I’ve ever read one of her books. This one sounds good. Do you know The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet? That’s also about the detainment camps for Japanese in the USA. It’s very good, so if the subject interests you, definitely worth a read.

    Have a good week!

  2. Fay

    You have had a productive week indeed. I have Dorian Grey just sitting there on my kindle – i really need to start reading more on my kindle!! 😀

  3. I’m on a nonfiction roll these days. And I need to be. I’ve 100 nonfiction children’s books to read!

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

  4. therelentlessreader

    You have some great books listed here! I loved Dorian Gray but it’s been eons since I read it. Garden of Stones sounds excellent and I’d like to check out the book about sisters as well. Enjoy!

  5. Wow you got a lot done this week! I have Dorian Grey on my Nook, I think, but have never gotten to it! Have a great week!

  6. joyweesemoll

    All About Love sounds intriguing. I think sometimes these books start out personal to draw in the reader before getting into the more scientific parts.

    I love the cover of Hurry Home Spider — such great colors!

  7. Hurry Home Spider doesn’t seem to be being published anymore sadly. At least in the UK. It’s a shame because it’s a nice little book/

  8. It’s worth getting to, if you can manage. It’s not like a modern book but is easy when it comes to the realms of classics

  9. I’m thinking of reading the sister one next (I finished Garden of Stones today).

    Garden of Stones was really good, just need to write the review whilst it’s still in my head.

  10. I do lots of commuting on the bus for work so the kindle is really ideal for me.

    I was expecting Dorian Gray to be a more difficult read, but actually it was ok.

  11. Apparently this one is rather different from her others, but I still really enjoyed it.

    I vaguely recognise the title of The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, I will have to look it up.

    Hope you have a good week too

  12. The Complication of Sisters sounds interesting. I have three of them myself, so I’m always on the lookout for well-written books about the unique relationship between sisters.

  13. I actually ended up reading the whole thing today on the bus (it’s very short!) it wasn’t exactly a series of stories as it turns out but was very thoughtful, and I rather enjoyed it.

  14. Isi

    Garden of stones looks great. I have never read a novel about Pearl Harbour. And The picture of Dorian Grey is in my list since ever!!

  15. I haven’t before either, that’s why I was excited about it. I finished it on Monday and I really enjoyed it, just have to write the review now.

Leave a Reply

