The Etymologicon- Mark Forsyth

Synopsis (from Amazon)

The Etymologicon springs from Mark Forsyth’s Inky Fool blog on the strange connections between words. It’s an occasionally ribald, frequently witty and unerringly erudite guided tour of the secret labyrinth that lurks beneath the English language, taking in monks and monkeys, film buffs and buffaloes, and explaining precisely what the Rolling Stones have to do with gardening.

Review

I got a little bit addicted to the knowledge from this book while reading it, I miss tweeting the bits I found interesting. In fact I miss finding the interesting bits, hopefully following Forsyth’s Blog will help remedy that.

I really did enjoy this book. Anyone who follows my twitter feed can probably see I loved finding out about the words. (Soon was the Anglo-Saxon word for now, but humans are by nature procrastinators so the meaning changed. Did you know that?).

The writing was very conversational, which made it very easy to read and easy to understand.

I also loved how each chapter linked into the next by linking the words each chapter started and ended with. It did make it a little hard to put down however, which is not so good when you’re on a bus, or on your lunch break.

It also made me a little dead to the world, a number of times people started talking to me only for me not the notice.

Can’t wait to read Forsyth’s most recent offering, The Horologicon.

4.5/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£5.19)

Hardback (£7.40)

16 Comments

Filed under Language, non-fiction review

16 responses to “The Etymologicon- Mark Forsyth

  1. Celiac and Allergy Adventures

    This sounds right up my alley. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. Isi

    This sounds very interesting! My teacher often tells me about the meaning and the origin of some words that I can pronounce remember or properly, and I like it. I will talk to him about the book! 😀

  3. Nice! I love learning the etymology of words. I’m always guessing where words come from. Sounds like something I should read.

  4. Pingback: The Etymologicon: A Taster | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. It’s really good if you’re interested in that. You should look it out.

  6. I’s a pretty easy read too (generally) I would only worry with all the old and new meanings for words it might confuse you.

  7. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are You Reading? | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are You Reading? 26/11/12 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: The Horologicon- Mark Forsyth | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: What Would Rory Read? | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Recommend the Most | Lucybird's Book Blog

  12. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 11/8/13 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  13. Pingback: The Elements of Eloquence- Mark Forsyth | Lucybird's Book Blog

  14. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- December | Lucybird's Book Blog

  15. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- April | Lucybird's Book Blog

  16. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- August 2017 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

