Monsoon Season- Katie O’Rourke


Disclaimer: This book was given to me free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Monsoon Season tells the story of Riley Thomas, whose first foray into adulthood hasn’t worked out quite how she had planned. A year after her college graduation, she’s back at home with her parents in Massachusetts, escaping a dysfunctional relationship and other secret mistakes from her year in Arizona.

We see what Riley has learned about love from the people closest to her, how she has grown into the person she is, and how she attempts to change. When she’s forced to accept help, Riley realizes that being independent doesn’t have to mean being alone. Monsoon Season explores how well we know the people we claim to love and how much every person we choose to let into our lives shapes who we become

Review

I enjoyed this book more than I expected to. I did expect to enjoy it, but I also expected it to have a little less real substance.

It was an easy read. The chapters were split up between different characters which gave you different sides of the story. The voices seemed pretty authentic to me, and I found I really felt like I was having a conversation most of the time. The only real problem was that I found I liked all the characters, sometimes against my better judgement, except where they didn’t get their own voice. Maybe this just shows how well written the voices were but it does also suggest a lack of variety.

Sometimes I did find Riley to be a bit of an idiot. She made some rather shaking decisions. But I liked her and wanted everything to work out ok. I just wished she would take someone’s advice once in a while.

I didn’t like the synopsis given by the publisher, which is why I have used one from goodreads. It suggested the story had less depth than it really does and is certainly less compelling than the one from goodreads. I can see it appealing to a wider audience, but it is a bit spoilerish.

4/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£1.99)

Other Reviews:

If you have reviewed this book leave me a link and I will add it here.

5 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

5 responses to “Monsoon Season- Katie O’Rourke

  1. Mama Kucing Books

    I saw pretty good comments about this books in goodreads too. hopefully can get my hands in this

    kathy

    http://www.smallkucing.com
    http://mamakucingbooks.blogspot.com

  2. It’s only avaliable on kindle over here, but I think it may be out in paperback elsewhere. Either way I would recommend looking it out.

  3. Bob Hershberger

    cool

    ________________________________

  4. Pingback: A Long Thaw- Katie O’Rourke | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Monsoon Season: Some links | Katie O'Rourke

Leave a Reply

