Bright Young Things- Scarlett Thomas

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Bright Young Things wanted for Big Project.’ They’re in the prime of their lives but our bright young things are all burnt out. Six sparky twenty-somethings just out of university and working dead-end jobs, they are all bored to tears with their lives and looking for a way out. When a mysterious job is advertised in the newspaper, they all apply. What they least expect is to find themselves prisoners on a deserted island. There’s food in the fridge and they have a bedroom each, but there’s no telephone, no television, and no way to escape.

Review

I was a little sceptical about reading Bright Young Things after recent disappointments from Scarlett Thomas. However it was (and still is actually) only 20p for the kindle so I thought why not.

Maybe because I didn’t have the expectations I usually have when it comes to Scarlett Thomas I actually enjoyed it quite a lot.

I wouldn’t call the Bright Young Things bright exactly. They were clever in terms of learning or bookish knowledge if you want, but they were a little nieve about the situation in general. I know it’s not exactly a ‘normal’ situation but they just seemed to treat it like a holiday. Surely if you woke up on a random island, with no idea how you had got there, or why you would try and find out, wouldn’t you? Or try and get away? They only really make the most basic of attempts at either of those things.

I worked out certain twists in the tale quicker than they did too, but I suppose fear could have an effect on that.

It was an enjoyable book however, although it took a while to really get going. The beginning was interesting, and towards the end it ot exciting but in the middle I did get a little bored.

4/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£0.20)

Paperback (£5.75)

Other Reviews:

If you have reviewed this book comment with a link and I will add it here.

4 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review, Mystery

4 responses to “Bright Young Things- Scarlett Thomas

  1. I haven’t read this one but usually really enjoy her writing. I was a little dissapointed by her last one though.

  2. I love Scarlett’s writing too and I haven’t read this one either. I love how you describe them as not too bright! I am intrigued by this and may buy it since it is only 20p

  3. I think it’s certainly worth the 20p. Just a shame that having it on the kindle means you don’t have one of those lovely looking books.

  4. Bob Hershberger

    thank you

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

