Children’s Hour: Me

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Me is a delightful little book which has in the past been a part of the Bookstart pack. It’s more of one for parents to read really I think, and maybe in a way more designed for parents but it is beautiful, and the kids enjoy the penguins. The book follows a young penguin looking at the world and seeing just how big it is, and maybe just a little bit scary.

“The world is big…and I am small”

Then penguin looks at Mummy/Daddy and knows that everything is safe.

“But you are big, and you are strong…”

Buy Me:

Paperback (£6.29)

Hardback (£3.74)

3 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

3 responses to “Children’s Hour: Me

  1. Donna Farrer

    This does indeed look like a very insightful book. It’s funny how we tend to learn just as much as adults reading kids books as the kids do! we recently read A Mango in the Hand by Antonio Sacre. It’s written in proverba about a young boy trying to pick Mangoes, and he has to come to his father for help! A similar concept about growing up in the world can indeed be a bit scary! We picked it up at anotniosacre.com. We will definately be looking for Me, the next time we are out!

  2. It is. And how you notice things as an adult which you didn’t as a child

  3. Pingback: Children’s Hour: When I’m a Grown-Up | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

