Children’s Hour: Peace at Last

Children’s Hour is a feature posted every Thursday here at Lucybird’s Book Blog. Children’s Hour is my time for reviewing children’s picture books. In my job in a nursery I encounter lots of children’s books, and these are the books I use for Children’s Hour.

You can find links to past Children’s Hour posts here.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Peace at Last is the story of Mr Bear. Mr Bear is very tired but the whole world seems to be disturbing his sleep. He moves from room to room in the house but everywhere is just far to noisy

“Oh no” says Mr Bear “I can’t stand this”

This is a great story for the children to join in with, and ‘read’ to themselves. The repeated refrain always comes at a fairly predictable time, and the kids love making all the different noises Mr Bear can hear too. It’s quite pleasant to read for the adult too. The story is simple, but entertaining, and the picture of a tired Mr Bear is rather funny.

Jill Murphy, the author of Peace at Last is well known for being writer of The Large Family books which are also very entertaining. I think I prefer Peace at Last however.

Buy Peace at Last:

Paperback (£4.68)

Board Book (£5.39)

4 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

4 responses to “Children’s Hour: Peace at Last

  1. Pingback: Children’s Hour: It Looked Like Spilt Milk | Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Children’s Hour: Itzy Bitzy House | Lucybird's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Children’s Hour: Books on Screen | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Review of the Year 2014: Children’s Hour | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

