Top 10 ‘Older’ Books Not to be Forgotten

Top 10 Tuesday is a meme hosted every Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers compile lists of different top 10s. This week it’s

Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About

I’m trying to use books which I think may end up being forgotten. Not sure if I can make it to 10 but I will try my best.

1) Pop Co.- Scarlet Thomas Scarlett Thomas is probably better known as the writer of The End of Mr Y but I preferred this one. Her more recent releases haven’t quite met up to standard so I hope this one doesn’t get lost because of them.

2) Random Acts of Heroic Love- Danny Scheinmann I read this book before I started my blog. It had been very popular for a while but I haven’t seen a review of it in a long time. When I read it I adored it and wanted to share it with everybody.

3) An Equal Music- Vikram Seth This is another one I read in my pre-blog days. I read it when A Suitable Boy (which I have never managed to finish) was at the height of its popularity, and it’s probably overshadowed by A Suitable Boy. The descriptions of music and playing made me want to pick up my violin again.

4) The Historian- Elisabeth Kostova Beware about this vampire novel, it gave me funny dreams! I was in half a mind whether to include this one or not. It still seems to be quite well know, but it didn’t have the greatest amount of hype so I thought I would add it just in case.

5) The Lover’s Dictionary- David Levithan Considering this wonderful little novel is written by a traditionally YA author I worry that it will be drowned out, or will be seen as a book for teenagers, rather than the adult novel it actually is.

6) The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts- Louis de Bernieres: when I read the review which put me onto this book I didn’t even know it existed. Louis de Bernieres is best known for Captain Correli’s Mandolin, and a lot of his work prior to that is given little notice. The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts, however, is the best I have read by him.

Yup 6 is my limit.

13 Comments

Filed under Memes, Top 10 Tuesday

13 responses to “Top 10 ‘Older’ Books Not to be Forgotten

  1. I’d almost forgotten about ‘Random Acts of Heroic Love’ What a fantastic book! I’m so pleased you’ve mentioned it again. I hope your post persuades a few people to give it a try.

    I’m a big fan of ‘The End of Mr Y’ but haven’t read PopCo yet. I own a copy so I don’t have any excuse – I’ll have to get it off the shelf 🙂

  2. You’ve listed lots of older titles here that others should read. Thanks!

    Here’s my Ten “Older” Books I Hope You Won’t Forget. I hope you will stop by!

  3. Toots

    So, can I be cheeky and add 4 more? From the perspective of a few more years of reading!

    1. One Hundred Acres by Jane Smiley. I read this about 12 years ago and it stays with me as a landmark read. Jane Smiley seems to try out different genres and this adds to her interest for me. You never quite know what you are getting, and most of her novels come up fresh and new-minted. This was the first I read and deserves to become a classic. It is a modern re-working of the King Lear theme. The characters are entirely convincing. The setting has an authenticity that pulls you in. You feel you are there and you know how it feels to be there. This novel won the Pulitzer Prize, I think, so maybe it’s not likely to be forgotten….but, just in case.
    2. The Spire by William Golding. Golding is well known, of course, for Lord of the Flies. This less well known novel concerns the building of a cathedral, and is about over-reaching pride. It is fascinating both in its portrayal of human frailty and its descriptions of the mechanics of building prior to modern technology.
    3. The Dark Room by Rachel Seiffert. Strong writing about wartime and post-war Germany, this book consists (if I remember correctly – it’s a long time since I read it) of three different stories telling vividly of lives affected by the horrors of war and being on the losing side. Some in my book group could not get along with the sadnesses of this book but I found it gave me an insight into those times and lives, and I found it hard to put down. I picked it up in a charity shop and wonder how many people have read it and how successful it was. I’ve not seen anything else by the author, so I’m guessing it might be in danger of being forgotten.
    4. The Mosquito Coast by Paul Theroux. This is a tale of adventure and survival. it’s a bit of an eco-fable, but with a difference. The huge character of the narrator’s father dominates and intrigues. He is powerful and intelligent; possessed by a cause … but for good or ill? Ultimately we ask questions about good and evil, obsession and grace. There was a film made of this book but I doubt it did justice to the atmosphere. It feels as though it happens at the end of the world. And I am saying that from a distance – I read it probably two decades ago. This book deserves to be remembered!

    Lucybird, I hope you don’t mind me piggybacking on your blog. I think it’s time I had a blog of my own!

  4. Toots

    Oops! ‘A Thousand Acres’ by Jane Smiley.

  5. I like the sound of The Dark Room.

    Of course I don’t mind you piggybacking

  6. I see Random Acts of Heroic Love in charity shops all the time (as tend to happen with books that were once very popular), it shouldn’t be to hard for people to get their hands on a copy even if they are a bit strapped for cash.

    I loved The End of Mr Y. Pop Co. is more ‘normal’ but still has a certain strangeness which I expect from Scarlett Thomas, you should move it up your pile a bit.

  7. Thanks for stopping by. I will certainly have a look at your list

  8. Oh I love The Lovers Dictionary! I agree with you it’s wonderfully written book. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  9. Yes, The Lover’s Dictionary definitely. Great list.

  10. You’re welcome, thanks for visiting back

  11. The only one on your list that I’ve read is THE HISTORIAN, which I really enjoyed despite the let down of only a paragraph or two appearance of Dracula. And THE LOVER’S DICTIONARY is on my TBR list.

  12. Move The Lover’s Dictionary up, you won’t regret it! It’s a very quick read, but beautiful.

Leave a Reply

