Children’s Hour: Where the Wild Things Are

Children’s Hour is a new feature here at Lucybird’s Book Blog every Thursday where I’m looking at children’s picture books. As I work in a nursery I get plenty of opportunities to look at picture books, and to see what the kids think of them so it really makes sense to use those experiences.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Where the Wild Things Are is a monster book I have been wanting to introduce the toddlers to for a long time. I couldn’t find it at home until recently so had to make do with other monster books (our toddlers are crazy about monsters at the moment- and dragons and dinosaurs). Max really reminds me of some of our kids too, maybe I should start calling them wild things! Certainly Max is one of the most authentic children in children’s picture books whom I have encountered. The story goes that Max is being so wild one day that his mother sends him to bed with no supper. While he is in his room a forest grows up around him, and a sea with a boat just for him. He sails across the sea until he reaches the land where the wild things are. Max is so wild that he scares the monsters and they make him their king.

This is a great book for the children to use their imaginations to tell the story themselves. The ‘Wild Rumpus’ is shown only in pictures so the children can talk about what the monsters and Max are doing. Our toddlers did find this a little hard, but it was interesting to see what answers they did come out with, which were not always obvious. They also enjoyed pretending to be wild things themselves, “roaring their terrible roars”, “gnashing their terrible teeth”, “rolling their terrible eyes, and showing their terrible claws”. I’ve only read it to them once so far but I can see it becoming a favourite.

Buy Where The Wild Things Are:

Paperback (£3.46)

Hardback (£9.09)

 

I would actually love to read In the Night Kitchen to the kids, but I think it might get frowned on.

1 Comment

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

One response to “Children’s Hour: Where the Wild Things Are

  1. Pingback: Children’s Hour: Six Dinner Sid | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

