If I Stay- Gayle Forman

Synopsis (from Amazon)

The last thing Mia remembers is the music.

After the accident, she can still hear it. And she can see her damaged body being taken from the wreck of her parents’ car – even though she can’t feel a thing.

All she can do is watch as doctors rush to save her life, as her friends and relatives gather outside her room, as the boy she loves struggles to be near her.

As the next twenty-four hours unfold, Mia must come to terms with what came before the crash – and what could come after. And she knows she must make the most difficult choice of all.

Review

Pretty much every book blogger was reviewing this book a while ago, and loving it, but I don’t really have much to say.

The idea was good, and I liked all the music references but it wasn’t as emotional as I expected really. I didn’t feel I got to know any of the characters that well except for Mia, so I couldn’t really connect that well to her emotions.

There was a lot of talk about the past but the current bits felt like they could have been much more emotional except Forman seemed to feel the need to be making something happen the whole time which took a focus off the emotions.

The ending felt rushed and I never really got a sense of Mia debating whether to stay or go.

3/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£4.65)

Paperback (£4.89)

Hardback (£9.89)

Other Reviews:

The Perpetual Page Turner

Pink Sheep Cafe

Giraffe Days

Owl Tell You All About it

Books From Bleh to Basically Amazing

Is your review missing? Leave me a link and I’ll add it

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, YA

2 responses to “If I Stay- Gayle Forman

  1. You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

