BBAW: What Book Blogging Means to Me

I’m taking part in Book Blogger Appreciation Week this week, and today we’re all looking at what book blogging means to us.

I started this blog just over three years ago (my blogiversary was at the end of August) but I’ve had a bookish presence online for quite a lot longer than that. Firstly it was more about Harry Potter, I am a member of The Chamber Of Secrets Forums where I used to spend a lot of time. I’m not going to go into the relations between my online life and Harry Potter (it would just make this post last forever) but I have made a post on it in the past that you can read if you are interested.

Really though by book blogging life started with The Book Club Forum where I had my own thread for book reviews, as well as joining in with discussions about books. Quite a few members on there have their own blogs and my thread eventually became Lucybird’s Book Blog.

I discovered the wider book blogging community through the book blogger hop (hosted by Jennifer @ Crazy for Books) which one of my forum friends took part in. That’s when I really got going.

Well that’s my favourite thing about book blogging really. Discovering new blogs, and with it new books. I’ve read some really fantastic books thanks to other bloggers. I’ve discovered different blogs. I’ve found inspiration for my musings posts from things other bloggers have written, and from comments and conversations started in different posts I’ve made. I got introduced to twitter, which is just a fantastic way to meet new bloggers- and to find out about blogging events.

Ultimately blogging for me is about sharing my love for books with the world. I hope I inspire people to read with my reviews and/or posts- or even just help them to find a book they love.

8 Comments

Filed under general, Musings

8 responses to “BBAW: What Book Blogging Means to Me

  1. Great to hear about your journey into blogging. I used to do the Friday meme with Jennifer for a long time and discovered lots of new blogs that way. Maybe we met that way? I can’t remember now.

  2. Good to discover you on here! I love finding new blogs as well, this is my first year participating in the BBAW and i’m glad I am. I write a children’s book blog. It’s: http://www.storytimebooks.wordpress.com. Feel free to check it out if you’d like. I’ll be back to visit your blog! 🙂

  3. I will go along and have a look, I do some children’s reviews myself (my children’s hour feature) so I would be interested to see.

    Thanks for visiting 🙂

  4. It’s quite possible we did, I know I found a lot of bloggers that way. I can’t remember if you were one of them though

  5. Nice seeing your journey through book blogging and how you found it.

    Good luck and many more years.

  6. Really enjoying reading everyone’s posts on what blogging means to them! And loved hearing about how you became a blogger!

  7. Thank you. I hope I’ll stay around a few more years at least, as long add I still enjoy it

Leave a Reply

