Coming and Going

Well two days ago I wrote a post about the last year on this blog and what has been popular. Today (which is the actual day of my blogiversary) I want to look at the new things that have happened this year, and what I’m hoping to see happen next year.

I’d love to know if there’s anything you guys have enjoyed this year, anything you’d like to see more of, or even see some of!

So what has happened this year? (In chronological order, most recent last)

  • I’ve started using Amazon Associates on my blog with the idea of getting money together for giveaways, and hopefully for paying for a self-hosted blog. I’ve made a little bit but no really significant amount. If you fancy supporting me through amazon however you can click any link to amazon and anything you buy on there will give me a small percentage of revenue. It doesn’t have to be the thing you click the link for.
  • I got a Kindle! I was still unsure about reading from what is basically a computer, and imagined I would only really use it outside the house but I was quite positive about the idea. In reality? I liked it more than I expected. I find I read faster on it, or at least seem to. It’s easy to carry around- being fairly small and light. I can get cheaper books for it, and lots of (mainly indie author) books are avaliable only as e-books. I still prefer the experience of reading from a paper book. Owning an e-book seems like less of a possession, I don’t treasure it the same. I feel more like I’ve achieved something from seeing all the paper books I’ve read than from looking at a list of kindle titles. Sometimes the formatting can be a bit off on the kindle too.
  • I took part in my first Bloggiesta and got a lot done! I really enjoyed it and am already looking forward to the next one in September.
  • I set up a facebook page as a new way for readers to follow my blog. My twitter is certainly more active but my number of likes is certainly going up too.
  • I’ve changed my banner again, and again, and again. Still not satisfied though.
  • I started using netgalley. Great site for free review books which I can now use easily because of my kindle. This has meant a lot more review books.
  • I started a new feature, Children’s Hour, where I review children’s picture books which I’ve read to the kids at work. This is probably my favourite new thing I’ve done on the blog this year.
  • I joined in with the occasional Top 10 Tuesdays meme. I’m not a big meme fan, I prefer original content and often memes seem like making a post for the sake of it, but I was always quite fond of reading Top Ten Tuesday posts so thought I would have a go at writing some.

So what next…?

  • Another new header. Hopefully one I like this time. I’m looking into getting it done for me because I have next to no knowledge of graphics (if you can recommend someone that would be awesome).
  • I’d like to take part in a read-a-thon although most seem to happen while I’m at work.
  • Hopefully more musing posts, I don’t feel I’ve been posting many recently.
  • More reviews!
6 Comments

Filed under general

6 responses to “Coming and Going

  1. Glad you like the Kindle. When I got mine, I was so sceptical but I am a true convert 🙂 Great for studies too – you can store PDFs on it as well to save carrying loads of paper around!

  2. Congratulations on the blogoversary! It is amazing how much bloggers do in a few short year. Keep up the great work!

  3. Thanks Jackie. Looking back has made me quite happy with what I’ve done this year. It didn’t feel like much till I started looking through older posts.

  4. I like that our works for PDFs too. I’ve used that to prepare for job interviews, and a lot of review copies come as pdfs

  5. Rory O'Connor

    I’m not overly fond of memes, but have found it the easiest way to “meet” other bloggers. I love that you do a children’s hour!

  6. Memes do make it easy to meet other bloggers, I sometimes do the Book Blogger Hop for that reason, but only if the question interests me. Twitter is great for meeting other bloggers too

Leave a Reply

