The Baby Game- James A. Thomas and Vidya Samson

Disclaimer: This book was given to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Schoolteacher Samantha Morgan wants nothing more than to go to India and pick up the baby that’s being carried by a surrogate–the baby belonging to
her and her beloved late husband.

But a mysterious woman contacts her and brings up a long forgotten
event: her seduction by an older man at age fifteen. Samantha tries
to put that back in the past, but a friend and fellow victim of the seducer delivers some startling news: that older man is now the Republican candidate for president and is about to win the election.

A phone call urges her to come forward, tell all, and destroy his chances. She wants no part of the notoriety that would bring. Then her friend’s home is blown up, and it’s obvious that another, more sinister group wants her silent forever. She and her friend flee to India to get her baby, and there the real troubles begin.

Review

It’s taken me a while to get around to writing this review. Not because I disliked the book exactly but because I didn’t know what to say about it. I still don’t really but seeing as it was a review request I thought I should at least make an attempt.

To be perfectly frank I was just a bit, well, meh, about this book. There were elements I like but it felt like everything was kind of crammed in. Like the authors didn’t feel that one story would be enough so they crammed two stories together to try and make for more action. Either story alone was maybe believable but together it was just a bit far fetched. Then there were little subplots that were, well, just to much.

I did like the political angle- although not so much the way it was conducted. I still thought it was a good general idea.

The action wasn’t bad, but it didn’t stick out either- although without it I may never have even finished the book.

The quality of writing was just so-so. Not what I would call bad, just there was nothing about it which made me connect with the characters or the situation. It didn’t really draw me in.

2.5/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£1.95)

Leave a comment

Filed under Crime, Fiction review

Leave a Reply

