Charlotte Street- Danny Wallace

Image from amazon

Synopsis (from amazon)

It all starts with a girl… (because yes, there’s always a girl…)

Jason Priestley (not that one) has just seen her. They shared an incredible, brief, fleeting moment of deep possibility, somewhere halfway down Charlotte Street.

And then, just like that, she was gone – accidentally leaving him holding her old-fashioned, disposable camera, chock full of undeveloped photos…

And now Jason – ex-teacher, ex-boyfriend, part-time writer and reluctant hero – faces a dilemma. Should he try and track The Girl down? What if she’s The One? But that would mean using the only clues he has, which lie untouched in this tatty disposable…

It’s funny how things can develop…

Review.

A while ago I read a review of Charlotte Street on Ellie’s blog; Curiosity Killed the Bookworm. Ellie loved Charlotte Street and I just had to add it to my wishlist. Well the other week I managed to get myself stuck in Waterstone’s. I had intended just to browse. I told myself I could buy two books from the buy one get one half-price selection, but only if one was from The Rory List. I didn’t see any books from the Rory list in that selection so I decided to leave. Unfortunately when I reached the door I saw that the rain was coming down like a Monsoon. I mean, I couldn’t go out in that could I? So I was stuck in Waterstone’s, and my will-power was wearing down…I had no choice. So I came out with Charlotte Street and Scarlett Thomas’ Going Out. Both books on my wishlist, neither on The Rory List.

Anyway this is meant to be a review, right? Not the story of how I got forced to buy books!

Charlotte Street was one of those books that made me both sad and satisfied to have finished. It’s been a long time since I last got this feeling from finishing a book. I wanted it to carry on, even though I knew it had definitely reached a conclusion.

I liked the characters, especially Dev. I quite often thought they were idiots but that just made them more realistic. Jason was certainly the flawed hero- if you can call someone whose behaviour borders on stalker-ish a hero! He did sometimes doubt whether he should be behaving the way he was, but there was always a friend to put him on the ‘right’ path, and I loved that.

In some ways you could actually call Charlotte Street a coming of age story. Maybe it was later in life than the typical coming of age story but Jason (and actually the other major characters too) certainly learnt something from the beginning of the book to the end and entered a new stage of life.

Wallace’s writing style reminded me a lot of Nick Hornby’s books, especially High Fidelity. Flawed hero- check, love interest- check, geeky friend- check, shop- check. It wasn’t a copy my any means but there were a lot of parallels. Amusing but in a real-life way rather than an artificial humour.

I had meant to read something by Danny Wallace for a long time, in fact since reading Are You Dave Gorman? when I was at school, and finding out Danny Wallace had written solo books, but somehow it hasn’t happened until now. This is probably the worst book to start on seeing as it’s Wallace’s first fiction book, but it has made me more eager to read something else by him.

5/5

Other Reviews:

Ellie @ Curiosity Killed the Bookworm

If you have reviewed this book and would like me to add it here please leave me a comment with a link and I will add it.

Buy it:

Paperback (£7.79)

Kindle (£7.40)

10 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review, Humour, Romantic

10 responses to “Charlotte Street- Danny Wallace

  1. So glad I found this review, I’m a big fan of Danny Wallace but had no idea that he wrote fiction! Read ‘Yes Man’ if you want to try his non-fiction. It’s much better than the awful Jim Carrey film it inspired.

  2. I have loved several of his earlier books and so am interested to see how well he has managed the conversion to fiction. It sounds like he has done a great job. I’m looking forward to reading this at some point.

  3. I hope you enjoy it when you do read it Jackie. I wouldn’t exactly call it literary greatness but I really enjoyed it.

  4. My boyfriend is a big fan of the film Yes Man, but I only found it ok. I think I might be interested to read it though, that’s for the recommendation

  5. Pingback: BBAW: Appreciation | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Review of the Year 2012- Fiction | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Friends Like These- Danny Wallace | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Blogiversary Competition Time | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- August | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Books to Sink Into | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

